Some more manoevre questions.
This is the situation: 3 units, nicely lined up, clash with 3 of my opponents units, nicely lined up as well. All have the 'close' standing order. The middle unit of my opponent is eliminated (leaving a gap). So is my unit on the left.
The only place where we're still engaged now is on my right.
OK, so if I understand you correctly, the situation now is:
where his units are A and your units are B.
It's my turn to move.
I move 'sideways' to the left with my (former) middle unit to engage my opponents unit.
I have a movement of 3.5" (L) [lowered to 2.5" (S) for the sideways movement] this is the only way in which I can reach over half the frontside of his unit. If I reform or turn I cannot reach his flank. Moving sideways allows me to attack him at my front.
That isn't what should have happened. First off, whenever you're engaging an enemy unit you use the "final rush" rules rather than normal movement. To see if you can engage someone, you measure the distance from your front center point to the center point of the facing side of the enemy unit. If it's within your normal movement, you're in and you can (for the most part) ignore obstacles or hypothetical maneuvers.
Next, the "facing side" (i.e. the side you should attack) wouldn't be the enemy front but rather its flank.
So the questions are:
1. Do I get the charging bonus even though I moved sideways? (that sounds odd does it not?)
The only time you'd really move sideways when final rushing is if you didn't have room to final rush with your front and thus has to final rush with your flank. If you do this, you are considered charging -- the individual soldiers aren't moving sideways, after all!
2. And when do I have to line up with his front center? (I cannot move that far this turn)
Does that happen next time when I get to move or does that happen when it's the opponents turn to move and is his unit then shifted to the (my) right? The latter means that there is no longer a card-wide gap in which he can plug some reserve unit from the back which would be the case if I have to snap to his front center point.
3. Or does this snap-thing never happen and the cards stay where they are unless someone wants to move (sideways again) to line up?
When you final rush you automatically line up center pont to center point, provided there's room. If there isn't room, than each player checks at the end of their M&C phase to see if he can slide over and does so.
4. Non related to the above: Can you move out an engaged unit anyway?
5. Even to engage another unit?
Nope...kill the one you're fighting first!
6. What do units do who have the "stay with the line" order who see their linked neighbour being eliminated and thus are unable to stay with the line? Does their order switch to 'close' or to 'hold'?
It switches to whatever the base order was. N.B. the 2.2 rules eliminated "stay with the line" although it remains an optional rule for those that really like it.
And oh, and I hate nets!