Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Linda Pollasch
msg tools
Why does the Copper Coin Card have a "zero" cost? Does it mean that you can pick one up for free in your turn if you can't do anything else?

thanks


Linmcnab
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but it does take a buy.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, though it still uses up a Buy action. In many cases it's not worth it even though it's free, but it depends on what cards are in play.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Brendel
United States
Dunwoody
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are many cards that care about what things cost, so every card has to have a cost, even (in later expansions) cards that you aren't ever allowed to buy.

Looking only at the base set: You can Remodel a Copper into a $2 card. You can Mine it into Silver. You can gain gain one with Workshop, if you really want to. You couldn't do any of these things if it didn't have a cost.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vic R
Spain
Tomares (Seville)
flag msg tools
badge
Pure mathematics is the world's best game. It is more absorbing than chess, more of a gamble than poker, and lasts longer than Monopoly. It's free. It can be played anywhere - Archimedes did it in a bathtub
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If copper will have not cost then it couldnt interact with other cards. For example the remodel card let you turn your copper (cost 0) on estates (cost 2), so copper have to had a cost to be able to get remodeled.

Same applies to curses, they cost 0 and you could buy it if you wish (I know I bought them by free will at least a couple times), but the cost is more to allow them to interact with the rest of the cards.

Editninja

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M S
United States
Lakewood
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For what it's worth... a couple examples of why you might buy a 0-cost card -- both are from Empires.

Fountain:

When scoring, 15 Victory Points if you have at least 10 Coppers.

Defiled Shrine:

When you buy a Curse, take the Victory Points from this....

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rogue148 wrote:
For what it's worth... a couple examples of why you might buy a 0-cost card -- both are from Empires.

Fountain:

When scoring, 15 Victory Points if you have at least 10 Coppers.

Defiled Shrine:

When you buy a Curse, take the Victory Points from this....



Also:
BASE
--Fatten up your deck for Gardens

PROSPERITY
--Counting House - reveal and take Copper cards into your hand
So it makes this stronger
--Goons - .... whenever you buy a card, +1 VP token per Goon you have in play
Allows you to gain VP tokens. 0-cost cards only cost buys, whereas others cost buys and coins, which is harder to do


EMPIRES
--Tower - 1pt per card you have from a non-Victory, empty supply pile
The Curses are still worth -1pt each, but at least adding +1pt per Curse nullifies that effect.

If you have tons of Copper, then may as well push for them to score pts for you as well!

--Museum - 2pts per differently named card you have
Getting 2pts from Museum. Yes, the Curse itself is -1pt, but you come out ahead at a net of +1pt

--Wolf Den - -1pt per card you have exactly 1 copy of
Getting a 2nd one actually lowers the number of negative pts you take (thus, gaining you pts) from -4 to -2pts

--Palace - 3pts per each set of Copper, Silver, and Gold you have
--Keep - 5ps per Treasure that you have the most of (for ties, each player gets 5pts)

--Basilica - After you buy a card, if you have 2 coins more, take 2 VP from here
--Labyrinth - If you gain a 2nd card in your turn, take 2 VP from here
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Crawford
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LinMcNab1 wrote:
Why does the Copper Coin Card have a "zero" cost? Does it mean that you can pick one up for free in your turn if you can't do anything else?

thanks


Linmcnab


As people have said, yes, you can buy it just like you could buy a Silver or any other card. And to avoid any potential other confusion; this is true of Curse cards as well, you can buy one of them for $0 just like you can buy any other card. It's just pretty rare that you would want to do either of those things (though as shown in other threads, there's still plenty of examples of when you would).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've purchased curses to use with ambassador.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
qzhdad wrote:
I've purchased curses to use with ambassador.
And you can't Embargo it because that would actually make that pile all the more desirable
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.