Recommend
32 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

878: Vikings – Invasions of England» Forums » Rules

Subject: Full List of Rules Questions and Answers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keith Kopicki
msg tools
***UPDATE*** These questions along with others have all been officially answered here https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/153057/878-vikings-faq , an official FAQ

I will attempt to compile a list of questions that need to be officially answered or cards/rules that need clarification. This will not contain questions asked where people just didn't look hard enough in the rule book. Hopefully this makes it not only easier for Academy games to quickly response and clarify these issues, but also allows players to quickly find the answers to the questions.

1) Are English Reinforcement placements optional?
---No official response---
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1842335/are-english-reinfor...

2) Danegeld vs army of only one faction- the example in the rulebook shows you can choose to partially fulfill the card by only removing a single Norseman and not a berserker. So therefor, this user has a valid question as to whether or not you can choose to remove the faction that is not present. I don't personally believe you should be able to but clarification is necessary.
---No official response---
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1842008/danegeld-vs-army-on...

3) Is the Fyrd deck reshuffled after it is depleted in the BASE game?
---Official Response---
The first initial response was that the Fyrd deck was not reshuffled, but later it was corrected as being a mistake. The Fyrd deck is confirmed to be reshuffled after being depleted even in the base game.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1841679/fyrd-deck-question
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1830646/fyrd-cards-reshuffl...

4) Does the Feigned Retreat Card resolve and affect the english Fyrd units, or before the Fyrd units are added to the battle?
---No Official Response---
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1840008/feigned-retreat-car...

5) We need clarification on Leader Retreat with units on the leader card vs units in the shire with the leader. Can they be freely moved, and therefor units moved off the leader card to allow the leader to retreat with a single unit on the card? What happens in the case of multiple leaders?
---No Official Response---
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1838176/leaders-command-die...
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1840895/multiple-leaders

6) General timing of card play/intent to play event cards. Do players just play cards in any order and respond in turn, or must everyone declare there intent to play a card and then everyone reveals together?
---No Official Response---
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1837733/timing-card-play

7) Clarification on Northumbrian Discord Card. Are all the dice rolled together and resolved or does one side defend and another attack?
---No Official Response---
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1837057/how-does-northumbri...

8) Clarification on Escape into the Wilds card. According to Uwe on the kickstarter page you can move into the marsh shires on the map. This definitely needs to be officially confirmed and if so, then corrected and be made clear on the card.
---Official response---
You can use Escape into the Wilds card to move into marsh shires.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1836855/escape-wilds-marshe...

9) English Traitors card needs to be reworded for clarification. "With as many Norsemen units" is a terrible way to phrase it.
---Official Response---
Replace the thegn units with the same amount of Norsemen units
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1834333/english-traitors-ca...

10) My own personal question: When using any of the viking event cards that remove up to two english units from a shire and replace them with viking units which can cause an immediate battle if both factions are present after swapping, i assume the English are the defenders just as the vikings are stated as being the defenders in the rulebook for Religious Conversion. If this occurs in a city shire, can the english draw a fyrd card? The rulebook states "If the english are defending a city shire with at least one Housecarl or Thegn, they may then also draw one Fyrd card."

NEW ADDITION 11) Clarification about the difference in the rules and cardtext on the wessex kingdom ability in Expansion 2.
---No Official Response---
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1852009/wessex-kingdom-advv...

The game is awesome, but i just wish Academy games would step up and clarify these questions in a timely fashion. I also hope they release a much better polished rulebook, and fix the multiple cards that need rewording.

*** If i missed any questions or card clarifications please post in the comments and i will add them to the list ***

  • [+] Dice rolls
Excellent work. Thank you! bagthumbsup
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Winslow
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, thank you VERY much for doing this. Of course, it would be nice if Academy put something official together themselves...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Shogren
United States
Rochester
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb

Thanks for collecting the list of questions. Academy Games is aware of these and an official response will be coming soon.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anton Nieuwkoop
Netherlands
Klundert
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
maybe you could add this one as well:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1852009/wessex-kingdom-advv...

about the difference in the rules and cardtext on the wessex kingdom ability in Expansion 2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Kopicki
msg tools
antoi wrote:
maybe you could add this one as well:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1852009/wessex-kingdom-advv...

about the difference in the rules and cardtext on the wessex kingdom ability in Expansion 2.


Absolutely, editing and adding it to the list now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Moorehead
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1851593/rule-16-expansi...
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1837872/churches-final-...
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1835997/expansion-1-war...

could also be included. Quite a bit of discussion over the exact wording vs. designer intent. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Keith compiled and answered the list and has sent it to me. I am adding a few more FAQ and will be posting the pdf to BGG this weekend. Thank you Keith for helping us compile this list.

Gunter
Academy Games
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Winslow
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks to all involved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Kopicki
msg tools
Simwork wrote:


They are posting a FAQ here any moment, if these aren't addressed I will make a note of it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have uploaded the FAQ to the 878 Vikings BGG page and am just waiting for it to be approved.

Gunter
Academy Games
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick D.
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a contradiction between this page and the official FAQ. The latter document says that the escape into the wilds card cannot be used to go into the marshes (even with the thematic justification), whereas here there was "official confirmation" that the card DOES let you do that.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Townshend
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I too would love a final consensus on Escape into the Wilds.

And it looks like Viking fled units can now reinforce in any Viking-occupied coastal shire, not just leaders and coastal cities that the Vikings occupy. This is better because it's the same rule as the Vikings' leaders Reinforcements card in leader deck B; thus, there is one rule for how Viking fled units/reinforcements can be played, and not two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
josqvin wrote:
There is a contradiction between this page and the official FAQ. The latter document says that the escape into the wilds card cannot be used to go into the marshes (even with the thematic justification), whereas here there was "official confirmation" that the card DOES let you do that.



Here is the entry from the FAQ and take note of the last sentance.

"Escape into the Wilds (Thegn Events 09 & 15)
The Thegn may play this Event during any battle on a Viking Faction’s Turn. After playing, all English units in the Battle move to an adjacent Shire not occupied by Viking Units. If played before a Viking Leader’s Army first attack roll, the Viking army has no movement penalty. The card does not permit movement into the marshes (unless marsh movement is permitted by the scenario)."

In the vanilla game, Marshes can never be moved into, so the Escape into the Wild Event Card does not allow it either. However, if a scenario or expansion allows Marsh Movement, this event card does too.

Gunter
Academy Games
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick D.
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Gunter,

Thanks for the answer. I did read the FAQ carefully and neither your answer here nor the FAQ actually address the supposed fact someone on another thread linked here received this email from Uwe:

"Ok so I got an official response to the question on the Academy Games Vikings Kickstarter Comments board:

"kes_167 - Correct, you can move an English army into a Marsh Shire with the 'Escape into the Wilds' card.
- Uwe"

Nice! Into the marshes!!!"

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
josqvin wrote:
Hi Gunter,

Thanks for the answer. I did read the FAQ carefully and neither your answer here nor the FAQ actually address the supposed fact someone on another thread linked here received this email from Uwe:

"Ok so I got an official response to the question on the Academy Games Vikings Kickstarter Comments board:

"kes_167 - Correct, you can move an English army into a Marsh Shire with the 'Escape into the Wilds' card.
- Uwe"

Nice! Into the marshes!!!"


I think Uwe was assuming they were playing with an expansion that allowed Marsh movement.

Gunter
Academy Games
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.