Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Frost Armor rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Johnson
United States
Pittsburgh
PA
flag msg tools
Is the frost armor (spellweaver) used when a null attack modifier card is drawn? My understanding is that it is because the damage was done before the attack modifier card was drawn and items/active area bonuses are used before this, even if there isn't any benefit. Is this correct though?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike heim
United States
Juneau
Alaska
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You choose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Johnson
United States
Pittsburgh
PA
flag msg tools
So this is an ambiguous case?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Schwarz
Canada
flag msg tools
I would say that it definitely doesn't trigger
From the rulebook:
Quote:

Example: The Spellweaver plays her Frost Armor
ability, which negates the next two sources of
damage against her. She places a character token
on the first circle of the card. Then each time
afterward that she normally would suffer 1 or
more points of damage, the bonus is applied,
the damage is negated, and the token is moved
forward one space.


If the null modifier is drawn, then you wouldn't suffer 1 or more points of damage. Also of interest - frost armor will negate damage from retaliate, traps, friendly fire, damage from re-rolling a short rest loss, etc.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Childres
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Daniel is correct. Attack modifier cards are evaluated before any defensive bonuses in all cases. The attack does no damage, so the frost armor doesn't trigger.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Johnson
United States
Pittsburgh
PA
flag msg tools
Thanks guys. Also, I'm assuming this also applies to the item hide armor? And that if the attack went through with a 0 or less (not with a null card), the cards also do not activate? I was just confused with the faq stating that you always use items/active area bonuses even if there isn't any benefit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Childres
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the same with armor. You always used items and ability with activation circles if the stated conditions apply. In this case, the conditions don't apply because you're not taking any damage.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.