Joe M
msg tools
mbmbmb
I only have a few plays under my belt, all of them as the Ishida side. I have been offering the choice of sides to my opponents and telling them that the Tokugawa side has the fewest complications (just one special unit and one instant loss condition.) Without fail, they have gravitated to that option. I'm still not sure if there is a better side to suggest to future new players I teach, so any feedback is welcome.

Playing as Ishida, I first impulse was that you are the "defensive" side. Once I had played and understood the mechanics I realized that simply isn't a good way to approach either side. I am really new to the game, so let me know what you think.

Ishida starts out the game losing. You have fewer castles, and if you don't change that early, you will have a very hard time surviving. You have a child to protect that can't be moved out of harms way. Cards are the oil of your war machine, your troops simply wont move or fight without them. The central and eastern part of the map has your forces on a peninsula surrounded by Tokugawa forces and homelands.

There is good news, in the west you have a strong force and there are 2-3 Black castles(Miyazu, Anotsu, and Okazaki)that are vulnerable with small garrisons. Early on, you don't need to concern yourself with the defense of Osaka because you have a strong Mori "garrison." This leaves you free to attack aggressively in the West in the first 2-3 weeks. If your initial hand gives you a way to muster up 7 impact in a siege battle, I strongly suggest taking Miyazu or Anotsu in the first week. It's easier to accomplish this task if you make Tokugawa go first, so if you have a high bid value card in your opening hand you don't need to hit 7 impact in your siege, use it.