Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Nemo's War (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule 11 concerning lull turns & their action points rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Seif Mounir
Egypt
flag msg tools
Hi there,
Concerning rule eleven during a lull turn; it states that I can scrounge up actions by other means... what does that mean ? does it mean that I can exert my ship resources or actually losing it in favour of getting action points or just using my treasures won that makes me gain 1 extra action?
It's an amazing game, thank you..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You cannot normally sacrifice resources for actions. You could use a treasure that says discard for an action to get an action during a lull turn.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Subatomic Birdicle
United States
flag msg tools
*chirp*
badge
*squawk*
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can also save an action point at the end of each turn if unused. A good idea if you are concerned about Lulls.

There are also "Keep" cards which can produce actions. And, as senorcoo notes, some treasures too.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Wilson
United Kingdom
Plymouth
flag msg tools
badge
There Can Be Only One! The Wrong One!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As above, but I would add that you could sacrifice some Character tiles as well to gain additional actions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Erni
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you accumulate your "bonus AP" features for a single Lull planning to "plunder" the Adventure deck -- you may "find" cards that generate actions, "action" gems, or "Professor Arronax's Determination" (my poor "First Officer" has died twice in one turn several times). The results can be staggering.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Subatomic Birdicle
United States
flag msg tools
*chirp*
badge
*squawk*
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Man, I don't think I've ever sacrificed the 1st Officer except in one game where I lost to an Imperialist Victory anyway. 7 VPs plus a Nemo!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Erni
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
chuft wrote:
Man, I don't think I've ever sacrificed the 1st Officer except in one game where I lost to an Imperialist Victory anyway. 7 VPs plus a Nemo!

Each Action Point is generically worth almost exactly 3 VP's on average. In specific situations (particularly during Lulls) they may be worth FAR more. Also, I often WANT to "lose Nemo" (love that "Steady" state). Admittedly, that is not "always" the case -- the presence of copious mitigation is big consideration. It helps that my style involves very little combat with Warships (except when playing War -- where I have NEVER treated her so badly).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seif Mounir
Egypt
flag msg tools
Thank you very much...
I have another Q. concerning the Nautilus first upgrade it costs 3 resources or 3 points worth of resources ? meaning that for ex. i lose 1 crew since it has +3 or I lose 3 crew or any combination of my resources... from what I understand is I lose (sacrifice) 3 combination of my resources is that correct ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C.A. Sinclair
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
seifo wrote:
Thank you very much...
from what I understand is I lose (sacrifice) 3 combination of my resources is that correct ?


That is correct. You just sacrifice any 3 resources for the upgrade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Subatomic Birdicle
United States
flag msg tools
*chirp*
badge
*squawk*
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
seifo wrote:
Thank you very much...
I have another Q. concerning the Nautilus first upgrade it costs 3 resources or 3 points worth of resources ? meaning that for ex. i lose 1 crew since it has +3 or I lose 3 crew or any combination of my resources... from what I understand is I lose (sacrifice) 3 combination of my resources is that correct ?


Each level of Crew/Hull/Nemo counts as losing one resource, regardless of what DRM that level would give. So yes, losing a Crew at the +3 DRM level counts as losing 1, not losing 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.