Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dragonfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blue Slaad, Save+1? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Buell
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Not sure if I'm just missing something obvious, but the Blue Slaad's description states:

When Blue Slaad attacks, it also attacks the Arcane character unless it's already facing that character (if there's another Arcane character, it still attacks that additional character(s)). Save+1.

Does the Save+1 mean that the Arcane character has to save against being attacked...? Or am I just missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kindt Dalzen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It means that if the Slaad has to make a Save, it Reveals 2 cards from the Encounter deck. If either card is Blue, it passes the Save.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only Encounters make saves(pg 17 skill checks)

You just reveal 1 additional card when it needs to make a save.

Like if you used Color Spray against it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mustardayonnaiz wrote:
Only Encounters make saves(pg 17 skill checks)

You just reveal 1 additional card when it needs to make a save.

Like if you used Color Spray against it.


It probably would have helped on the card if they put the Save ability on a separate line so it would be clearer that it was its own independent ability. However, mustardayonnaiz's point makes it clear of the intent. Save vs Skill Check clears up this ambiguity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daskindt wrote:
It means that if the Slaad has to make a Save, it Reveals 2 cards from the Encounter deck. If either card is Blue, it passes the Save.


I agree with this for sure, but what happens on success or failure?

It can only make it's extra attack on a successful save?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dlikos wrote:
daskindt wrote:
It means that if the Slaad has to make a Save, it Reveals 2 cards from the Encounter deck. If either card is Blue, it passes the Save.


I agree with this for sure, but what happens on success or failure?

It can only make it's extra attack on a successful save?


If the Blue Slaad is required to save, it gets two chances.

For example, if a Player targets the Blue Slaad with Color Spray (not found in the core set, but in the Heroes of the Sword Coast expansion), the Blue Slaad gets two chances to avoid the effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
dlikos wrote:
daskindt wrote:
It means that if the Slaad has to make a Save, it Reveals 2 cards from the Encounter deck. If either card is Blue, it passes the Save.


I agree with this for sure, but what happens on success or failure?

It can only make it's extra attack on a successful save?

The Save+1 on the card isn't triggered by anything on the card itself. It's not triggered when the card takes damage or when it is defeated or anything like that.

As mentioned, what Save+1 means is that when the card is required to make a Save check, then it gets two opportunities to pass the check.

This would happen quite infrequently because there aren't many circumstances that require a Encounter to make a save. For example, out of the 60 original Market cards, it's only the Confusion card that causes an Humanoid / Giant Encounter card to make a Save.

CONFUSION
One Humanoid or Giant Encounter must Save.
Failure: The encounter must skip its next attack.
The player deals its damage as colorless to
another encounter.

Since the Blue Slaad isn't a Humanoid or Giant, even Confusion has no effect on it. You need to have a card from the expansion, Color Spray for the Blue Slaad to be affected.

COLOR SPRAY
A non-location encounter facing you must Save. Failure: Must skip its next attack.

So this card gives the effect of the failed save by the Blue Slaad, so in this case it does miss its next attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.