Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dragonfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Augury rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Augury card on a successful skill check: Reveal the top Dragonfire card. You may bury it.

Does this card only work when there is no current Dragonfire card on top of the deck in the time between when you end a scene but before you begin a new round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noneya Bidness
United States
Middletown
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
mustardayonnaiz wrote:
Augury card on a successful skill check: Reveal the top Dragonfire card. You may bury it.

Does this card only work when there is no current Dragonfire card on top of the deck in the time between when you end a scene but before you begin a new round?


No. As the effect can only be triggered when you play the card AND have a character that is of the devotion class. So if there is a revealed DF card you would look at the next unrevealed card and decide to bury it or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Placing the active dragonfire card on top of the deck is a convention many people use just to save room on the table.

Once drawn, that card is no longer the 'top card of the dragonfire deck', it is the 'active dragonfire card'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook tells you to put the active card on top of Dragonfire deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mustardayonnaiz wrote:
The rulebook tells you to put the active card on top of Dragonfire deck.


So it's been formalized since SR:CF. That's probably good, but now leads to your confusion, which is bad.

Back to your original question. Here's our Dragonfire Deck:


+------------+
+------------+ |
+------------+ | |
| Rest of | | |
| Face Down | | |
| Dragonfire | | |
| Deck | |---+
+------------+ |---+
| Second |---+
| Face Down |
| Dragonfire |
| Card |
+------------+ |
| First |---+
| Face Down |
| Dragonfire |
| card |
+------------+ |
| Active |---+
| Dragonfire |
| Card |
| (face up) |
| |
+------------+


So which card do you believe is looked at by Augury?
a/ The Active Dragonfire (if there is an Active Dragonfire)*
b/ The First Face Down Dragonfire card
c/ The Second Face Down Dragonfire card
d/ Some Face Down Dragonfire card in the rest of the deck

*Possible there is no Active DF card (as you've pointed out):
-- when starting with fewer than 4 players
-- after a scene clears but the last player in turn order hasn't gone yet.

Now pretend the Active Dragonfire Card is placed anywhere else on the table than 'on top of the DF deck'.

Does doing so change Augury's function?

I believe Augury is intended to reveal the first Face-Down Dragonfire Card.
I further believe if the Active Dragonfire card were not 'stored' on top of the Dragonfire deck that it wouldn't affect Augury in the slightest.

The wording covers both cases of there being and not being an Active DF card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Cobb
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Page 10 of the rulebook, in the sidebar, fourth bullet point:

Place the current Dragonfire card on top of the deck after reading it. That way it's never confused with the Dragonfire discard, which represents the Dragonfire level.

Augury
DEVOTION CHECK. Success: Reveal the top Dragonfire card. You may bury it.

The term "Devotion Check" means you reveal the top card of your deck, and if it is a Devotion (green) card, you succeed. You do not have to be a Devotion character to buy, play, or succeed with this card. This is specifically addressed under the definition of skill check on Page 30 of the rulebook.

The language in the game isn't precise enough to prove exactly how this card is correctly played, but I believe there is more than enough circumstantial evidence (the actual Augury spell in D&D, for example) to support what BCZ has said - that the intent of the Augury card is to reveal the top card of the deck, ignoring the active Dragonfire card.

If you believe he is wrong, and that the active Dragonfire card counts as, "the top Dragonfire card" then you should assume that a successful play of the Augury card allows you to ignore the "reveal" step and go straight to deciding whether to bury it or not.

I have yet to see an active Dragonfire card that I would choose not to bury, which I personally take as further evidence that Augury is not meant to affect the active card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I never disagreed with the 1st answer, just clarifying that the rule book stated you put the DF on the top, not on top to save room on the table or whatever he was saying.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pink Rose
United States
Milwaukie
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bradleyhcobb wrote:

The term "Devotion Check" means you reveal the top card of your deck, and if it is a Devotion (green) card, you succeed. You do not have to be a Devotion character to buy, play, or succeed with this card. This is specifically addressed under the definition of skill check on Page 30 of the rulebook.

Thanks for this! Missed it.

As for the answer, it totally means the first card, not revealed, perhaps under the revealed DF card.
And there are a few good DF cards for specific situations. Fireball, Cursed Treasure (if everyone is out of gold anyway), a few others.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OregonPinkRose wrote:
bradleyhcobb wrote:

The term "Devotion Check" means you reveal the top card of your deck, and if it is a Devotion (green) card, you succeed. You do not have to be a Devotion character to buy, play, or succeed with this card. This is specifically addressed under the definition of skill check on Page 30 of the rulebook.

Thanks for this! Missed it.

As for the answer, it totally means the first card, not revealed, perhaps under the revealed DF card.
And there are a few good DF cards for specific situations. Fireball, Cursed Treasure (if everyone is out of gold anyway), a few others.


Sometimes you want to let a DF happen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven LaGorce
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mb
If your party is about to get slaughtered, the dragonfire card that moves all encounters to the mage sounds like a winner, unless you are the mage.devil

How many favorable df cards are there? How many game ending df cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gorski1234 wrote:
If your party is about to get slaughtered, the dragonfire card that moves all encounters to the mage sounds like a winner, unless you are the mage.devil

How many favorable df cards are there? How many game ending df cards?


Possibly favorable:
(In spoilers for those who don't like to know things they've not seen)
Spoiler (click to reveal)


Fireball: Arcane chooses character, 2 damage to character & 2 damage levels to all encounters facing that character

Discombobulation: Greater Dispel Magic (probably really bad) ; Encounters save or get moved to where the players want (one at a time) (Possibly really good, or bad, or indifferent)

Homunculus At Play: +$1, -1card

Dangerous Waters: DF 1: All characters heal half their lost HP // on discard, All Characters lose 3 HP. (If you finish the scene before the discard, it's a boon!)

Kill the Wizard First!: Everything jumps the Wizard (possibly healing at higher DF levels). Probably results in a downed mage but makes an easy mob target.

Cursed Treasure: On discard, lose some or all of your gold. Not really that bad if everyone bought stuff or you can end the scene quickly.

Reinforcements: Could replace Secondary Deck encounters with Primary Deck encounters (theoretically easier). Could do the opposite, DF dependent.

Hag's Curse: Possibly not a bad thing, party size and DF level dependent

Old Enemies: More Encounters, but possibly more gold. Might be something good, might be completely terrible.

Haunted: Accelerates the DF level... *later*. Might buy you some time.

4 Class based "+1 Damage Level" cards: If you aren't facing that color creature, these are free turns. If you are facing such a color, and in quantity, they are to be avoided.




So by my count, 14 of 24 might be "not as bad". That's pretty good odds.

Of course, all of the above situations are situation dependent. In some cases, even the 'ho hum' DFs can do some serious damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.