Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Fox in the Forest» Forums » Rules

Subject: rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
LYNDA ORM
United States
Atlanta
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are the abilities of the character cards (odd cards) mandatory or can the player decline to use them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
star5red wrote:
Are the abilities of the character cards (odd cards) mandatory or can the player decline to use them?


MANDATORY
(1) Swan
(5) Woodcutter
(7) Treasure
(9) Witch
(11) Monarch

OPTIONAL
(3) Fox*

*this is noted on the card by the use of "may"

10 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Buergel
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Note that the 5 doesn't have to change your hand, as you are allowed to discard the card you just drew. But you cannot choose to not draw the card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Campbell
United States
Excelsior
MN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens if you play the Woodcutter as your 13th card and you can’t draw/discard a card because you have none left?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are other card powers with little value on the last trick:

11 (Monarch)
No point forcing your opponent's card choice - he has only 1!

3 (Fox)
You can't exchange the decree card with one in your hand if your hand is empty!

1 (Swan)
Getting to lead to the next trick isn't worth much when there is no next trick!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay M
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gillum wrote:

1 (Swan)
Getting to lead to the next trick isn't worth much when there is no next trick!



Slight digression, but I noticed you used the words "getting to lead the next trick" as if it were a privilege. Half the time, I view it as a burden!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps, but I thought that you might sometimes choose to play a Swan because you might want to control what is led to the following trick. But not on the last trick!

(Or, from your point of view: playing a Swan to the last trick doesn't obligate you to lead to the next trick.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Major Sholto wrote:
What happens if you play the Woodcutter as your 13th card and you can’t draw/discard a card because you have none left?


Being able to draw a card is irrevelant if you have cards or none in your hand. And after you have drawn that card, you now have 1 in your hand, so you discard it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.