Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attack cards without a modifier? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Branham
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
New Dia die Los Muertos. Lighter, sillier, and Stickers.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the advanced characters has area attacks which are obviously used for the added effect.

Specifically:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Songweaver: Area attacks which do 3x Disarm and 3x Stun
.

However, they also have the keyword "Attack", but with no damage modifier.

Do these attacks still draw a card and do damage? As in +0?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Stiles
United States
Brandon
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fbranham wrote:
One of the advanced characters has area attacks which are obviously used for the added [status] effect.

However, they also have the keyword "Attack", but with no modifier [damage].


Why don't you spoiler tag the class, then spoiler tag the exact card.

If you mean something like and AoE that does curse (or another effect), and no damage-- then it doesn't draw a card. The attack means it can't be used if disarmed.

edit: you wrote "no modifier", but I think you meant "no damage".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Branham
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
New Dia die Los Muertos. Lighter, sillier, and Stickers.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SaintHax wrote:
The attack means it can't be used if disarmed.


I think that was what was throwing me. Why put the attack keyword on the card if it doesn't do damage?

To contrast, there are "Attack 0" effects in the decks somewhere, Aren't there?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Stiles
United States
Brandon
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fbranham wrote:
SaintHax wrote:
The attack means it can't be used if disarmed.


I think that was what was throwing me. Why put the attack keyword on the card if it doesn't do damage?


I feel like I just answered this, but if it has the keyword attack, it can't be used if your are disarmed.

fbranham wrote:
To contrast, there are "Attack 0" effects in the decks somewhere, Aren't there?


There are attack 0 actions in the game. I can think of monsters that have attack 1, and have an ability -1 to attack. In that case, the attack modifier deck would need to flip a positive number to do damage. If there are any attack effects (e.g. push or pull), they happen regardless of damage. The same is true for conditions (e.g. disarm, wound, and curse ((which is really not a condition)))
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Holland

North Carolina
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fbranham wrote:
One of the advanced characters has area attacks which are obviously used for the added effect.

Specifically:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Songweaver: Area attacks which do 3x Disarm and 3x Stun
.

However, they also have the keyword "Attack", but with no damage modifier.

Do these attacks still draw a card and do damage? As in +0?



So, that character specifically,
Spoiler (click to reveal)
I know that he has actions that don't have the Attack keyword but do have AoE effects... The Disarm you mentioned doesn't say 'Attack', and I don't think the Stun does either. Contrast with another character who has this ability:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Cthulhu Face
Spoiler (click to reveal)
he has an Attack 0 AoE that Immobilizes.
This one you DO pull modifiers, and CANNOT perform while Disarmed.


Read the card carefully. If it says Attack, you pull a modifier and cannot do it while Disarmed. If it doesn't, then no modifier pull, and you can do it while Disarmed.

(This means you can Rock Slide Top while Disarmed, Craghearts, but not Clear the Way Top.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
fbranham wrote:
One of the advanced characters has area attacks which are obviously used for the added effect.

Specifically:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Songweaver: Area attacks which do 3x Disarm and 3x Stun
.

However, they also have the keyword "Attack", but with no damage modifier.

Do these attacks still draw a card and do damage? As in +0?

I don't think those cards actually say 'Attack' on them. Can you take a picture?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stein Arild Killi
Norway
flag msg tools
I'm fairly certain they only say "target" if anything.
I checked the online PDF's, they say nothing about either. Just "status effect, range x, 3 hex"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.