Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Rules

Subject: After completion of a feature rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trevor James
United Kingdom
Norwich, Norfolk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have played many games over the past 3/4 years but keep finding little things that we haven't been doing quite right. E.g. counting some roads that cross a T junction as a single road (acc to CAR ALL roads end at T junctions).
Our main problem at the moment is that we cannot find any reference to what happens if you lay a monastery tile and it completes another of your monasteries. Can the new monastery still be claimed or do you have to wait for the next turn before laying another meeple as in all other instances?
We're in a dilemma over this. Last night we allowed the new monastery to be claimed but then didn't allow the completed monastery to be claimed and scored until another turn when no meeple was played. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bcoot9 wrote:
We have played many games over the past 3/4 years but keep finding little things that we haven't been doing quite right. E.g. counting some roads that cross a T junction as a single road (acc to CAT ALL roads end at T junctions).
Our main problem at the moment is that we cannot find any reference to what happens if you lay a monastery tile and it completes another of your monasteries. Can the new monastery still be claimed or do you have to wait for the next turn before laying another meeple as in all other instances?
We're in a dilemma over this. Last night we allowed the new monastery to be claimed but then didn't allow the completed monastery to be claimed and scored until another turn when no meeple was played. Is this correct?


No that is not correct. After the tile is placed, then a meeple may be played on the tile if desired. Then all completed features are scored and then meeples on completed features are returned. The cloister (monastery) may be claimed and then the completed one scored.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
bcoot9 wrote:
... Last night we allowed the new monastery to be claimed but then didn't allow the completed monastery to be claimed and scored until another turn when no meeple was played. Is this correct?


I added some emphasis: You might just be confused on the terminology here, but I thought I should address this quoted part.

You may never claim (place a meeple on) a tile that was placed on a previous turn. But if the "old" monestary that was completed already had a meeple on it from a previous turn, then yes, the "old" monestary should have been scored as normal. But, you could not claim it on your turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Making it simple:

1. Place a tile in a valid place. (Ignore any completed features at this point.)

2. May optionally place a meeple on the just-placed tile if you have any on the supply. (Ignore any completed features at this point.)

3. Score all completed features, removing meeples from all completed features, returning them to their respective supplies.


In step 3. it does not matter whether the meeple was just placed on step 2 or on previous turns.
10 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor James
United Kingdom
Norwich, Norfolk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all these comments guys and bearing with me. I've re-read the CAR pdf and obviously misinterpreted the completion rules but the comments are always useful.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.