Empires in Arms» Forums » Variants

Subject: Piracy on the High Seas rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Noah Peltier
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
So, was looking through the rulebook when I remembered this thing about The US having to deal with pirates across the coast of North Africa, did a little research, and came up with this, would love to have it playtested by you guys and critiqued (be gentle it's my first time). Also sorry if I somehow unknowingly stole this from Empires in Harms, I'm not that far into those rules yet and I won't be for a long time.

The Barbary Pirates:

During any economic phase, add the piracy step between the Victory Points step and the Money and Manpower collection step. During the piracy step, any major power controlling Tripolitania, Tunisia, Algeria, and/or Morocco as free state(s) can elect to steal the trade money from one trade transaction. Doing so robs both Britain and the trading major power of their domestic trade money from one port selected by the "sponsor" or major power who controls the pirating free state, and awards them Britain's domestic trade value in money in that port. The other value goes to the free state's treasury. If Turkey sponsors a voyage then Turkey gains the home nation's domestic value while the free state gains the British value. Each port can only be selected once and if any two powers select the same port to pirate, then they have an unmodified competitive die roll to see who gets pillaging rights.

Alternatively you can elect to pirate American/colonial trade, taking $5 (or all, whichever is lower) of the American/colonial trade from a select nation. The sponsor gets $2 money and the pirating minor gets $3 (flip this around if Turkey is sponsor). A major power can sponsor more than one voyage against American/colonial trade, taking $5 at a time.