Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Warhammer Quest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rolling 1 when rolling to Wound? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Crusher Crancko
Spain
Granollers
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When I roll a 1 to wound does the attack harm the opponent or the damage is nullified due to the 1' and 6' roll rule?

Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jade Knight
United States
Upper Valley
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it still exceeds their toughness it still does damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Mack
msg tools
I had the same question in my mind, thanks for asking

I understand that the 1 and 6 rule is for testing the success of an action (like in a RPG) and counting damage is something else.

Notice that a "success" (a six) for counting damage does not have any meaning (except if you count it as "instant death", but that would be far stretched)

Edited: I wrote "instead" in place of "instant"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Red Dog
United States
Tarpon Springs
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
THE RULE OF 1 AND 6
The rule of 1 and 6 is the most important rule in the game. When
making a dice roll, for whatever reason and whatever modifiers
apply, a natural roll of 1 always fails and a natural roll of 6 always
succeeds.


Even though the rules says 'for whatever reason', I do not think it was meant to be applied to damage rolls. I had not actually considered it for damage until you made your post. After all, how would you figure out a success if a 6 came up on the die and the opponent's toughness and armor blocked it all?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Miller

Columbus
Ohio
msg tools
Columbus, OH's best all '90s rock cover act: facebook.com/oddjobpolicy
badge
I can't believe your head exploded. If your head explodes, you'll never make it on BGG.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Damage is not a pass/fail situation, so it doesn't apply.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crusher Crancko
Spain
Granollers
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks to all. Indeed rereading the sample in the rulebook there is a situation with rolling 1 for damage
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.