BrentS
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
8.51 Diplomatic Issue

The resolution of the Diplomatic issue depends on the status of its Theater.

Contested or Enemy-Controlled Theater

The owning Faction commits up to three Strategos tokens from its pool. If the number of Strategos tokens, plus Treachery mark- ers of his Side already present, is greater than the military value of Enemy military units, plus twice the number of Enemy Bases in the Theater, convert one Enemy League Base to a Friendly League base and remove all friendly Treachery markers in the Theater. Otherwise, place Treachery markers in the Theater equal to the number of committed Strategos tokens. If an Enemy base converts the issue owner gains 2 Honor and the other Side’s Controlling Faction loses 2 Honor.

I have a Diplomatic issue resolve in a contested theatre and qualify by numbers to convert an enemy base but have no allied league bases left.....a risk for Athens who start out short on supply in the Second Peloponnesian War scenario.

My question hinges around how to interpret the "Otherwise" condition.....whether it is triggered by not qualifying to convert an enemy base due to not having sufficient Treachery + Strategos, or by failing to convert an enemy base for any reason, as in my example.

Which of the following applies?:

1. I'm out of luck and shouldn't waste the Strategos tokens but just discard the Diplomatic issue (I should have planned better and used a League issue to convert a League base to a City State one first).

2. I can elect to spend up to 3 Strategos for more Treachery tokens anyway (maybe to support a future Expedition Assembly which might be a better option for that theatre).

Thanks.

Brent.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
goshublue wrote:
Quote:
8.51 Diplomatic Issue

The resolution of the Diplomatic issue depends on the status of its Theater.