14 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion – Rise of the Empire» Forums » General

Subject: New Players rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ry Guy
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a veteran of the base game and just bought the expansion. For those of you who have played the new expansion, if I'm going to be playing with a brand new player to the game do you suggest we start with the base game or jump right into the expansion? Setup suggestions?

Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Draper
msg tools
Base game with new combat, and new cards but old starting units, a new player won't understand the nuisance of protecting the dsuc

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
mbmbmbmb
ryazii3000 wrote:
I am a veteran of the base game and just bought the expansion. For those of you who have played the new expansion, if I'm going to be playing with a brand new player to the game do you suggest we start with the base game or jump right into the expansion? Setup suggestions?

Thanks

The preset setup rules for the base game are fine for a game with newbies as picking setup can be really hard for new players. As for the expansion no real reason not to use the extra missions, objectives and leaders. The real question is if you use the advanced tactic cards or not. It is a bit complicated I will say. The whole "cards only block hits not damage" thing is tricky, especially for newbies I imagine. But if you teach the old combat system they'll just have to unlearn it later.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jooice ZP
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ou1975 wrote:
Base game with new combat, and new cards but old starting units, a new player won't understand the nuisance of protecting the dsuc

this is a good suggestion!

Since you don't know the new cards as well the playing field will be slightly more level.
same goes for the objectives.