The part that threw me off at first were the loot cards that read, "re-roll blanks AN ADDITIONAL TIME"
I think the "AN ADDITIONAL TIME" just signifies that should you have another ability that allows a re-roll, you may use the loot to do it again.
I looked through the rulebook and found no mention of an inherent re-roll for character.
I think the inclusion of "AN ADDITONAL TIME" comes from the idea in some other games that you are only allowed to re-roll a die once. The paladin type character has the innate ability to re-roll blanks on defense dice. That would be my guess at that particular choice of verbage.