Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: strange situation -no loot ability - houserule or fail scenario? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Clare Cannon
Wales
Trefforest
Mid Glamorgan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
So we just had our first character retire so the player (P1) was playing a new character and thus not familiar with the deck
The quest we were doing (personal quest of P2) required us all to pick up a treasure chest specifically using the loot ability rather than the end-of-turn looting.

About halfway through the scenario the P1 realised his character had NO loot abilities whatsoever, including in his active pool and thus no way to complete the objective.

So how SHOULD we have resolved this?






 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
see the faq, use the bottom action of a card as loot 1
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Daneman
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Morthai wrote:
see the faq, use the bottom action of a card as loot 1


I looked at the official FAQ and didn't see where it says that you can use bottom of card for loot. In fact, this would be an errata, since the rules specifically say you can only use bottom of card for move 2. Can you please point out where this is stated?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerold Wallis

Missouri
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

(this probably isn't really a spoiler, but I marked it just in case)

I presume this is the scenerio you are talking about.

From the FAQ
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1687146/official-faq

Scenario 52:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Special rule - For this specific scenario, you can use the bottom action of any card to loot a treasure tile within range 1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyler Nolto
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jerold_wallis wrote:

(this probably isn't really a spoiler, but I marked it just in case)

I presume this is the scenerio you are talking about.

From the FAQ
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1687146/official-faq

Scenario 52:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Special rule - For this specific scenario, you can use the bottom action of any card to loot a treasure tile within range 1.


It may have been Scenario 59, which also
Spoiler (click to reveal)
requires treasures to be looted with a loot action.
However, Scenario 59 has not
Spoiler (click to reveal)
been errataed to allow for any bottom action to be used as a loot action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Campbell
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As mentioned above, one scenario has been errata'd. Other scenario that require loot actions only require one character to have reusable loot actions. If you don't have that now, come back later.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that all characters have a loot ability in the 2nd edition....

Spoiler (click to reveal)
including the Beast Tyrant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
If the scenario was the
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Alchemy Lab
, the 2nd printing does not require a Loot action, end of turn looting is fine.

Also, one of the rooms has less monsters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Daneman
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What about
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Vibrant Grotto
? Did Loot rules change for that one as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Mishenka wrote:
What about
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Vibrant Grotto
? Did Loot rules change for that one as well?
That one very specifically requires Loot Actions. Certain class combos will not be able to complete the scenario.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.