Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Professor Evil and The Citadel of Time» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confused on Number of Actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Duke
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There was some confusion at our table during our first playthrough. The rules state you may use one of the two action cards in addition to your normal actions. Does this mean you include the card action as one of the three actions you get per turn, or do get this action in addition to the other three normal actions, totalling four actions per turn? Could someone please clarify for us?

Thank you in advance,
Rob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett J. Gilbert
United Kingdom
Cambridge
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Professor Evil and the Citadel of Time — Funforge / Passport Games
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Rob,

On each turn, you can take three regular actions PLUS take the special action on one of two cards drawn from your character deck. (And you may take the special action on the card you choose at any time on your turn: before, during or after your regular three actions.)

Hope that's clear! Enjoy!

Brett
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Duke
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you so much! That is what we ended up doing, but I wanted to make sure it was correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Crow
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
One of the... clock woman's cards makes no sense if you have to take an action to play it. The one that says move a treasure marker 5 minutes counterlockwise to take an extra action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ste Ste
msg tools
Gislef wrote:
One of the... clock woman's cards makes no sense if you have to take an action to play it. The one that says move a treasure marker 5 minutes counterclockwise to take an extra action.


I think it makes sense if you think about it as a double effect card that allows you to move the marker counterclockwise (thus giving you extra time) without spending any actions (technically you spend it, but get it back right away).

The wording might be confusing because it makes it sound like you are given a penalty to get an extra action, while it's the opposite, you are getting a bonus + an extra action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Bouselli
United States
Carteret
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gislef wrote:
One of the... clock woman's cards makes no sense if you have to take an action to play it. The one that says move a treasure marker 5 minutes counterlockwise to take an extra action.


It doesn’t cost an action to play any cards. And that card isn’t a double bonus.

You play the card for free.

- you lose 5 minutes on a treasure

- but you are given one extra action
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Bouselli
United States
Carteret
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lasve16 wrote:
Gislef wrote:
One of the... clock woman's cards makes no sense if you have to take an action to play it. The one that says move a treasure marker 5 minutes counterclockwise to take an extra action.


I think it makes sense if you think about it as a double effect card that allows you to move the marker counterclockwise (thus giving you extra time) without spending any actions (technically you spend it, but get it back right away).

The wording might be confusing because it makes it sound like you are given a penalty to get an extra action, while it's the opposite, you are getting a bonus + an extra action.


It’s not a double bonus at all. In order to get an extra action you are losing 5 minutes on a treasure, not gaining 5 minutes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.