Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Throneworld» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to take a Player owned World? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Pritchard
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mb
It's been a while since I played this and I'm trying to understand (Remember) the process of taking a Player owned world?

If a player owns a world but has no forces (Space or Ground, I move a fleet in do I now become the owner and get the Development value added to my Production total?

Do I need to scan using an S.T, a player owned world (assuming it has no enemy, player owned forces) before I can claim it?

Any help much appreciated, I do love this game.

John.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Pritchard71 wrote:
If a player owns a world but has no forces (Space or Ground, I move a fleet in do I now become the owner and get the Development value added to my Production total?

Nope. You need to invade it. You can only capture empty *unowned* systems with fleets. See 4.41.

Since you need to do an invasion to take the system, which takes a non-survey fleet, you need a scan marker on it to jump to it.

To do the invasion, it will either need to be in your Comm range or you must invade it with drop troops.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Pritchard
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mb
Wow, thanks for the speedy response!

So if I want to take a player owned system..

a) It needs to have one of my scan markers placed so I can Invade using Ground forces (Drop troops may be used if out of my Comm range)

But can I send a Survey team to the enemy system (assuming it has no enemy player forces present) to Scan it ? Or can I only scan it if it's in my comms range using a Comms counter?


Really appreciate the help thanks.

John.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pritchard71 wrote:
But can I send a Survey team to the enemy system (assuming it has no enemy player forces present) to Scan it ? Or can I only scan it if it's in my comms range using a Comms counter?


Sure, you can use a survey team. It just won't take control.

How you get the scan doesn't really matter, so long as you have a scan marker before the fleet goes in.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.