Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
Total noob to the game:

If I have two copies of Gordian Blade for example, and install them both, do I get the Strength of both cards 2+2 to break through the ice? Or do you only ever use 1 card when performing an icebreaker test?

Also Runners and Corporations, Is there only one corresponding character/corporation card meant for each deck, or can you choose one at random?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mus Rattus
msg tools
Installing two copies of the same ice-breaker provides no benefit... unless one of them get's trashed, then you have a back-up.
You are not limited to one card when interacting with ice, for example you can use Wyrm to lower strength and then break sub-routines with other breakers (a horrible experience that players starting with the revised core set will never need to go through...)

In the core set, there is only one identity card for each faction. You can only build decks of that faction with that identity. For playing with cards from different factions, check out the deck-building rules in the rulebook.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike B
Canada
Whitby
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the strength of different icebreakers (even if they are duplicates of the same card) isn't additive.

In the core set, yes there is only one identity for each faction. But once you start buying more expansions (if you go that route) then there are multiple options to choose form within each faction.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C&H Schmidt
Germany
Heidelberg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As noted above, having two of the same ICE breaker provides no benefit. Their strength does not stack, just like it never stacks for two different ICE breakers either.