Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Thunderbolt Apache Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Length of Temporary Hits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Gallant
msg tools
The rules say that temp. hits last until the aircrafts "next" turn. Not sure what "next" refers to. During Battlefield resolution, fast aircraft attack/move first, then enemy attacks, then slow aircraft attack/move.
If a fast aircraft gets hit, his "next" turn would be during the next Resolution phase. If slow aircraft gets hit, his "next" turn would be after the resolution phase that is currently being resolved, since he hasn't attacked/moved yet. Or is it after the next resolution phase? This would be technically two turns he suffers damage.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

"Turn" is talking about each "Loiter Turn" (Rulebook, page 13). As you know, each aircraft is either "Fast" or "Slow". So for each "Loiter Turn", each of your "Fast" aircraft will act, then the enemy will act, then each of your "Slow" aircraft will act. Then repeat for the next Loiter Turn, until the Loiter Counter reaches zero.

Note also, that each Loiter Turn begins with the "Draw Pop-Ups" and "Enemy Cover Roll" steps, but aren't relevant to your question. Together, all the steps (Draw Pop-Ups, Roll for Cover, Fast Aircraft acts, Enemy acts, Slow Aircraft acts) is referred to as "Battlefield Resolution" by the game.

Edit: After re-reading your OP, it's obvious that you understand everything I wrote above... sorry for the lesson.
But it seems that you're missing the way that the rule on page 18 is worded... it says that the temporary damage lasts until the end of the Aircraft's next turn.

So if it's a Fast aircraft that took damage, it will suffer that damage until the end of it's turn during the next Battlefield Resolution. Or if it's a Slow aircraft that took the damage, it will suffer that damage until the end of it's turn during the current Battlefield Resolution.

Either way - Fast or Slow - each aircraft must suffer a full turn with the damage in effect.

Hope this helps!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Andersch
Germany
Korntal-M√ľnchingen
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A quite similar Q/A is already in the FAQ...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Gallant
msg tools
No worries Barry. I appreciate the extra information to ensure we are both talking about the same thing. I understand how it works now. If it went the whole length of another loiter turn, it would mean that the fast aircraft would go through one turn (next) with damage, and the slow would go through two (current and the next), and that didn't seam right. Thanks again for the help.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.