Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Masmorra: Dungeons of Arcadia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Epic final boss questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Duo Maxwell
United States
Antioch
Tennessee
flag msg tools
So After finally finishing an epic game (which somehow took over 3 hours lol). These issues came up:

1. During the DM phase when youre respawning and moving monsters. Lets saw you respawn in a respawn room, then you move that monster one space. Now that respawn room is empty and their are no monsters of the correct type left to rolls to respawn, so you take any monster of the correct type out of any room as long as theres no hero in the room with the monster. Now I forgot exactly how we ended up in the situation but what happened was the only monsters on the board were either with heroes or in respawn rooms, so during the DM phase one re spawn room was empty so since we couldnt take a monster from the heroes room we took a monster out of one of the OTHER re spawn rooms and re rolled it into the respawn room that was previously open... but now you have a new respawn room open, so youd be stuck in a loop of having to respawn mobs indefinitely on your DM phase. What do you do in that situation?

2. When fighting Malaphys in the the throne room. He spawns a monster at the start of everyones turn plus does a grim bolt. Now he starts with a cultist in his room plus he spawns a monster every turn and room limits dont matter for his turn. So whats to stop him from having 3-4 monsters in his room plus himself before you ever get there (due to monsters in the middle room plus any that may be moved in there during the DM phase). If you walk into a room with 3-4 monsters plus the boss all youd be doing is getting your face smashed in as youd NEVER roll enough attacks to kill them ALL and even if yo did unless youre at full health the likelihood of you surviving is low.

Also does the "cant spawn monsters when hero is in room" rules apply to him in his throne room, if not and you somehow manage to kill his horde of monsters, Then youll have to kill 2 monsters (the boss plus his monster) and what the chance of you having enough attack to do that on your turn? AND if you dont that just means the next person to walk in there will have to deal with 3 monsters, and itll just keep getting bigger every turn until someone can someone kill an army in one turn?

Lastly when you kill the blue side of Malaphyas does the red side still spawn monsters and grimbolt at the beginning of each turn? My group says no because those abilities are only listed on the Monster reference card for the blue side whereas the red side has a different ability. I say yes because the book says "Malphyas attacks during the start of each heroes turn roll one dice for spawning and one dice for grimbolt" The red side s still considered Malaphyas is it not? And nowhere in the book does it say its exclusive only to his Blue side it simply says Maalaphyas attacks" So unless the red side is no longer Malaphyas then those instructions should apply to both sides correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scourn1
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
1. You only check to spawn rooms once, so no loop.

2. You should be moving the monsters in his space to your heroes You need to have a lot of cards saved up, and a hero with some abilities to defend well so they can move in and live. It is epic for a reason! Remember range also means your not hit back. And some heroes can attack from a square away.

By this point, everyone should be level 4, so all abilities. If your in the room you should have someone who can do a lot of damage. Again its all card management and working as a party. Anyone can play cards on anyone's turn.

You are correct, he still summons. His abilities on are on the last page. Blue is he summons a major monster, red is he ignores 1 range

It is very hard but beatable
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duo Maxwell
United States
Antioch
Tennessee
flag msg tools
scourn1 wrote:
1. You only check to spawn rooms once, so no loop.

2. You should be moving the monsters in his space to your heroes You need to have a lot of cards saved up, and a hero with some abilities to defend well so they can move in and live. It is epic for a reason! Remember range also means your not hit back. And some heroes can attack from a square away.

By this point, everyone should be level 4, so all abilities. If your in the room you should have someone who can do a lot of damage. Again its all card management and working as a party. Anyone can play cards on anyone's turn.

You are correct, he still summons. His abilities on are on the last page. Blue is he summons a major monster, red is he ignores 1 range

It is very hard but beatable


But just to verify incase anyone wants to dispute it is there anything in the book that indicates that blue STILL summons major or mi nor (its not just major) and still does grimbolt while youre fighting his red side?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Minic
msg tools
duomaxwell007 wrote:
1. During the DM phase when youre respawning and moving monsters. Lets saw you respawn in a respawn room, then you move that monster one space.


That is not possible. During the DM phase, first you move the monsters as normal, then you spawn new ones. And I believe in the Epic game mode, you don't move all the monsters one space, you get 2 movement points just like in the regular game.

If you need to spawn new monsters and all the monsters are in rooms with other heroes, then I guess you can take a monster from one of those rooms and spawn a new one. The rulebook states that you MUST spawn new monsters in empty spawn rooms - so if you really don't have any free ones, I guess you can use those who are in rooms with other heroes.

duomaxwell007 wrote:
2. When fighting Malaphys in the the throne room. He spawns a monster at the start of everyone's turn plus does a grim bolt. Now he starts with a cultist in his room plus he spawns a monster every turn and room limits dont matter for his turn. So whats to stop him from having 3-4 monsters in his room plus himself before you ever get there (due to monsters in the middle room plus any that may be moved in there during the DM phase). If you walk into a room with 3-4 monsters plus the boss all youd be doing is getting your face smashed in as youd NEVER roll enough attacks to kill them ALL and even if yo did unless youre at full health the likelihood of you surviving is low.


I believe the monster room limit still applies (4 monsters per room), so for example if in the throne room you have Malaphyas (counts as 2), a Cultist (1), and a Kobold (for a grand total of 4)... and then you roll and spawn a Ghost.. you need to remove monsters that give the least XP from that room, since they're violating the limit. In this example, the cultist and kobold would disappear, since they both grant 2XP each, whereas Ghost grants 3.

duomaxwell007 wrote:
Also does the "cant spawn monsters when hero is in room" rules apply to him in his throne room, if not and you somehow manage to kill his horde of monsters, Then youll have to kill 2 monsters (the boss plus his monster) and what the chance of you having enough attack to do that on your turn? AND if you dont that just means the next person to walk in there will have to deal with 3 monsters, and itll just keep getting bigger every turn until someone can someone kill an army in one turn?


The "cant spawn monsters" rule does not apply to his throne room. He will keep spawning new ones on each DM phase, but it still may cause other lower XP monsters to disappear due to this effect. He does not get to generate a horde of 5+ monsters etc (unless he keeps spawning rats), but can instead just 'upgrade' the existing ones if the room's already at its monster limit.



duomaxwell007 wrote:
Lastly when you kill the blue side of Malaphyas does the red side still spawn monsters and grimbolt at the beginning of each turn? My group says no because those abilities are only listed on the Monster reference card for the blue side whereas the red side has a different ability. I say yes because the book says "Malphyas attacks during the start of each heroes turn roll one dice for spawning and one dice for grimbolt" The red side s still considered Malaphyas is it not? And nowhere in the book does it say its exclusive only to his Blue side it simply says Maalaphyas attacks" So unless the red side is no longer Malaphyas then those instructions should apply to both sides correct?



Yes. From the Rulebook, Malaphyas' blue side states he spawns a Major monster at the start of combat. And the red side says that he ignores the damage from the first [Bow] symbol. The spawning and grimbolts aren't listed on either side there - they're written on the Throne Room's rulings part, so I believe they happen regardless of which side Malaphyas is on. Even on the red side, he will continue spawning new monsters and channeling grimbolts - as little sense as that may make for some players.


In conclusion.. you guys made your game a lot harder by moving freshly spawned monsters (also, it seems that you also moved them using Alliance rulings which also makes it harder), and not enforcing the monster room limit in Malaphyas' room xD
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duo Maxwell
United States
Antioch
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Well as for Malaphys room limit. The rule book specifically state that the room limit dont apply to his throne room.

As for making it harder if anything it was more fun we had to cordinate (despite it being a competitive game which makes no sense lol) and deal with meachanics like we weer fighting a boss in a raid on an MMO. Definitely more "challenging" than anything Massive Darkness offers based on what Ive seen in regards to that game lol
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Minic
msg tools
duomaxwell007 wrote:
Well as for Malaphys room limit. The rule book specifically state that the room limit dont apply to his throne room.

As for making it harder if anything it was more fun we had to cordinate (despite it being a competitive game which makes no sense lol) and deal with meachanics like we weer fighting a boss in a raid on an MMO. Definitely more "challenging" than anything Massive Darkness offers based on what Ive seen in regards to that game lol


Maybe I read an outdated version of the rulebook, but this one here states:

http://resources.cmon.com/MMR0001_Rulebook_web.pdf - Page 22

The Evil Wizard’s Throne Room
This part of the dungeon is divided into five rooms. Each of these rooms
follows the rules for medium dungeon rooms
(i.e., the Monster Limit is
4, monsters don’t spawn on the shaded spaces in the Dungeon Master
Phase, etc.). Heroes and monsters can move from room to room by
spending Move Points, just like normal


"Each" being a keyword here, as it means that his own room is included in that rule. So unless they made some rule changes regarding his own room, the monster room limit should still apply.

Edited and corrected the error which Will pointed out xD Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Check out the Board Game Beacon Blog: Click here then click on "Blogs" in the menu bar
badge
Follow me on Twitter: @BoardGameBeacon
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TechnoIvan wrote:
duomaxwell007 wrote:
Well as for Malaphys room limit. The rule book specifically state that the room limit dont apply to his throne room.

As for making it harder if anything it was more fun we had to cordinate (despite it being a competitive game which makes no sense lol) and deal with meachanics like we weer fighting a boss in a raid on an MMO. Definitely more "challenging" than anything Massive Darkness offers based on what Ive seen in regards to that game lol


Maybe I read an outdated version of the rulebook, but this one here states:

http://resources.cmon.com/MMR0001_Rulebook_web.pdf - Page 21

The Evil Wizard’s Throne Room
This part of the dungeon is divided into five rooms. Each of these rooms
follows the rules for medium dungeon rooms
(i.e., the Monster Limit is
4, monsters don’t spawn on the shaded spaces in the Dungeon Master
Phase, etc.). Heroes and monsters can move from room to room by
spending Move Points, just like normal


"Each" being a keyword here, as it means that his own room is included in that rule. So unless they made some rule changes regarding his own room, the monster room limit should still apply.

You're correct Ivan (you were looking at the final version of the rules.)
The monster limit is 4, even in Malaphyas's room.

The only thing you got wrong is that the passage of text you're referring to is on page 22 (not 21), but that's academic
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.