Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion – Rise of the Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Interdictor + Rebel Base rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

If the Empire has an Interdictor in the system, can you relocate the Rebel Base with Rapid Mobilization?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rogányi Antal
msg tools
I think yes. Rapid mobilization is not considered "retreating". It is the relocation of the base.

Thematically? The Interdictor got hit by ion cannons, is disabled, and the survivors escape. The rest of your military force, however...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
- -
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it is allowed, even though it looks inappropriate. They must have kept it working that way for game balance issues, probably. On the other hand, it wouldn't hurt if Interdictor's presence in a system containing revealed Rebel base was decreasing a number of probe cards drawn during Rapid Mobilization. Let's say, 1 card less per played leader.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Ah ok. Yea, thematically it seems to make little sense, but whatevs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rogányi Antal
msg tools
Shampoo4you wrote:

Ah ok. Yea, thematically it seems to make little sense, but whatevs.


Well, that gravity field of the Interdictor is how far-reaching? Your military keeps the Imperial forces occupied, while the base personnel fly to the other side of the planet, and hyper-jump from there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Genestealer Patriarch
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Shampoo4you wrote:

If the Empire has an Interdictor in the system, can you relocate the Rebel Base with Rapid Mobilization?

In game terms, nothing in the old Rebel base is moving anyway. All the former contents of the base are left behind whether or not an Interdictor is present.

If you wanted to argue that this shouldn't happen for thematic reasons, the same would apply to Rebel leaders in the refresh phase - they couldn't retreat back to the pool, or take part in missions other than the system they spent last turn in.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Shampoo4you wrote:

Ah ok. Yea, thematically it seems to make little sense, but whatevs.


The grav wells on intordictors have limited range. Even in a battle you can potentially fly outside of their influence and jump away like we see in the battle of Atalon. Stopping a fleet from retreating, sure. Stopping an entire planetary system from being able to use hyperspace travel? impossible.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.