Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Enemy Action: Ardennes» Forums » Rules

Subject: GS: Undetected Defender card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
T C
msg tools
Avatar
mb
In Step 3 of the German attack, if the formation on the Allied Command card does not match the formation of the Allied unit that I'm attacking, do I discard that card? Or do I shuffle it back into the deck? Or does it even matter since the German Command cards are what drive the turn length?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BROJD wrote:
In Step 3 of the German attack, if the formation on the Allied Command card does not match the formation of the Allied unit that I'm attacking, do I discard that card?

Surely discarding is what one does with a card after drawing it like this, as a general convention in games, isn't it? There are various other places in the game where the rules tell you to draw a card and possibly do stuff with them, without explicitly telling you to discard them afterward.

Granted, it would be best to explicitly say so, but I can't seriously imagine you're not meant to discard it.

Quote:
Or do I shuffle it back into the deck?

Is there some place in the rulebook that would suggest doing this?

Quote:
Or does it even matter since the German Command cards are what drive the turn length?

It would matter in terms of future Allied draws. I expect that the intent was not to see the same allied card again until the deck is depleted and reshuffled.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Kassel
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
If the card doesn't reveal an unexpected defender, it is used as a combat tactics card. Simply discarding it would rob the allies of any combat tactics.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Kassel wrote:
If the card doesn't reveal an unexpected defender, it is used as a combat tactics card. Simply discarding it would rob the allies of any combat tactics.

True dat. I (probably erroneously) supposed the OP implicitly meant if the combat tactics also was also inapplicable, so that the card had no effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.