Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Monopoly Gamer» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens when Toad chooses to resolve POW first? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say Toad rolls POW+6.

He chooses to resolve the POW first.
All other players drop a coin.
Does he still move the original 6 spaces (and resolve whereever he lands) before he rolls for his second movement? Or does he lose that die's value?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David K.
United States
Pflugerville
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jozxyqk wrote:
Let's say Toad rolls POW+6.

He chooses to resolve the POW first.
All other players drop a coin.
Does he still move the original 6 spaces (and resolve whereever he lands) before he rolls for his second movement? Or does he lose that die's value?



He still resolves the original movement before rolling for the 2nd movement. Toad is FAST!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadowen wrote:
He still resolves the original movement before rolling for the 2nd movement. Toad is FAST!


Yeah that's what makes logical sense. It's just icky wording for a rules lawyer

The game says that you can fully resolve either die first, but the Toad POW wording says that immediately after everyone drops their coins, you reroll the movement die. Which could arguably mean that you don't get a chance to resolve the original value if you didn't use it first.

I'm being terribly picky and shouldn't be.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Rucker

RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA
California
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
this will be super un-clear based on the card wording, but the core concept here is players should never have to "remember" what they rolled first and always complete one die at a time.

So basically the intent was roll both dice, if you resolve pow first, you resolve it completely (like all actions) meaning your 6 would be rerolled to a new number and you'd move once. this gave you an optional free "reroll" if that 6 was going to land you on a space you didn't want to go. otherwise you can move twice by moving 6, activating pow. rolling the movement die, and move again.

the 3 moves in a turn combo (albeit a lucky one) is to move 6, pow+roll to move again, land on a star and move a 3rd time.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rockanon wrote:
the intent was


I see your GAME DESIGNER flair and your links to some Hasbro games. Were you involved in Monopoly Gamer, or are you close to that design team?
If yes, then cool - great job re-engineering this maligned classic!

And I will also take this as an official ruling, but might ignore it when playing with my 9 year old who could find it too convoluted
We have played so that it allowed him to POW first (forcing people right in front of him to drop coins), then move the visible face of the die, then roll again.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance Ford
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rockanon wrote:
this will be super un-clear based on the card wording, but the core concept here is players should never have to "remember" what they rolled first and always complete one die at a time.

So basically the intent was roll both dice, if you resolve pow first, you resolve it completely (like all actions) meaning your 6 would be rerolled to a new number and you'd move once. this gave you an optional free "reroll" if that 6 was going to land you on a space you didn't want to go. otherwise you can move twice by moving 6, activating pow. rolling the movement die, and move again.

Groovy... that is the conclusion I came to, and posted in another thread... though, not quite as eloquently as you just presented it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.