Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Big Book of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Number of Spells Learned rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Renaud
Canada
Mission
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have this game on its way to me right now and I'm reading through the rule book pdf to ensure the first game goes somewhat smoothly. I have one question:

Do basic spells count towards the five spells known limit?

I assumed they did, but I've seen some reviews commenting that the male green wizard's ability is underpowered. If you can only learn one spell before you need to start discarding them, then he seems pretty good to me (without having actually played the game; I could be wildly off base), so I started to be unsure of myself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Susan
United States
Mesa
Arizona
flag msg tools
www.Meetup.com/ArizonaGames
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh man, if only they didn't. Having to toss away a spell is really hard to do. Unless the new spell is similiar you are potentially giving up a main action for the rest of the game for that player.

Sometimes we go heavy on the spell buying, other times not as much.
I think it really depends on which spells make it into the game.

ie. do I really want to buy this so-so spell, just so we can see what's underneath it? Or should I cure a madness, or upgrade an element card?
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Renaud
Canada
Mission
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clearing that up so quickly!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fer moros
South Korea
Kwang-Ju
Gwangju
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have played several times, and still I find very difficult to buy new spells and choose to discard some of the basic ones, which seems so necessary.

For instance, Telepathy/Ice/Growth do you ever discard any of these?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Gass
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I almost always get rid of the fire spell first, then growth if I'm not planing on buying a lot of earth elements. I only get rid of telepathy/ice if I get a direct upgrade of those.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.