UA Darth
United States
Boca Raton
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once age 4 starts, can War cards still be played?

Do you stop drawing new war cards in end of turn?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
pepepe pepepe
msg tools
You can not declare a war in age 4, but still can be played except for war card.
The age 4 has no military decks, so we can not draw them. A character printed back side of card is III, not IV.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Jeffreys
New Zealand
Christchurch
Canterbury
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can still start a War in Age IV.

A War resolves at the start of your next turn, so it would be pointless to start one on what is your final turn however.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Bowles
Australia
Tatura
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Korhil_NZ wrote:
Yes, you can still start a War in Age IV.

I was fairly certain you couldn't.
I just re-read the rules on page 4. Seems I was only half-right and a little confused. You can't declare war during the last round (makes sense), and you can't resign during Age IV. So Korhil was right and wrong aswell.

Military cards can be played during last round political actions, but only aggressions, events and pacts.

There are no cards at all for AGE IV, so while the remaining Age III civil cards shuffle down, players will not draw military cards at all at the end of those turns. (The last player to play in Age III will get military Age III cards because the age changeover happens at the start of the next players turn when they replenish the card row.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riku Koskinen
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
War declaration can happen in age IV, but not in the last round. Age IV starts when age III civil card deck depletes, but if this happens on some other player's turn than the one who started the game, there will be another round left to play.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nacho Facello
Uruguay
Montevideo
Montevideo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Korhil_NZ wrote:
Yes, you can still start a War in Age IV.

A War resolves at the start of your next turn, so it would be pointless to start one on what is your final turn however.


In the new rules you actually can't declare a war in the last round.

In the old rules you could, but it would be pointless in almost all situations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sonny A.
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
shadow9d9 wrote:
Once age 4 starts, can War cards still be played?

Do you stop drawing new war cards in end of turn?

Thanks!


I think there's some confusion about Military cards (The cards with grey backs) and War cards (Military cards with grey front).

Are you talking about the first or the second group of cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George I.
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shadow9d9 wrote:
Once age 4 starts, can War cards still be played?

A War cannot be declared on your last turn. This is the only restriction.

Here's where it gets messy: if the current round is the last one, you do know you are in Age IV. But it's not the other way around; if it's Age IV, you are either in your last or in your penultimate round.

From the rules: Age IV starts when the last civil card of Age III is placed on the civil card row. Return the Age III military card draw pile to the box at that point.

a) If this is done at the start of the first player's turn, then this is the last round. Everyone takes their last turn.
b) Otherwise, play until the last player; then everyone gets one more turn.

Example: order of play is Alice, Bob and Charlie; gameplay is in Age III.
* Alice plays her turn, produces and draws Age III military cards.
* Bob refills the card row and places the last card of Age III on the civil card row.
* Age III ends; Age IV begins; end-of-age sequence is now resolved; every player loses 2 yellow tokens from the yellow bank, some Age II cards get obsoleted, the Age III military card draw pile is returned to the box.
* Since this occurred at the beginning of Bob's turn (not the first player), this is the penultimate round.
* Bob plays his turn, passes and produces. He does not draw any cards, as there is no Age IV military card draw pile.
* Charlie declares a war against Bob. He plays his turn, passes, produces, draws no cards.
* Alice takes her last turn. She now cannot declare a new war.
* Bob takes his last turn. He now cannot declare a new war.
* Charlie takes his last turn. His war against Bob is now resolved. He now cannot declare a new war.

shadow9d9 wrote:
Do you stop drawing new war cards in end of turn?
If Age IV has started, there is no military draw pile to draw from.
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Bowles
Australia
Tatura
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly.. just like we said, only you said it more clearly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.