Cameron P
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
The rules don't explicitly state, but how I interpret it: even if you can't afford the building card, you can take it and place it under the wonder you're looking to construct. This qualifies as your action. Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aernout Casier
Netherlands
Nijmegen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SSMinnow wrote:
The rules don't explicitly state, but how I interpret it: even if you can't afford the building card, you can take it and place it under the wonder you're looking to construct. This qualifies as your action. Correct?

Whatever you do, you always take a card from those on offer in the tableau and either build it (pay for it), discard it (receive coins) or use it to construct one of your wonders (and slip it underneath).

Bang on!
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreu P.
Spain
Barcelona
Catalonia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only need to be able to pay for a card if you intend to build it. The cost of the card is meaningless in case that you either discard it or use it to build a wonder.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SSMinnow wrote:
The rules don't explicitly state


FWIW the rules for constructing a wonder explicit mention that you do not pay the cost of the Age card:
the rules wrote:
3. Construct a Wonder

You pay the cost of the Wonder (not the one of the Age card), then place your Age card face down partially covered by the Wonder card which is being constructed. The used card has no effect, it is simply used to show that the Wonder has been built.
20 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, thanks-- the rules DO "explicitly state."


I have yet to see a rules question that was not covered.

How it is that people think it's easier to post here than to just read the rules-- one time through?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup. When, oh when, oh when will people learn? Coming on to a board game discussion site and posting in the Rules forum when they're unsure about something they've read or might've missed...

This offends us all to our very core, and wastes our precious time to boot!

Cretins...
9 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
SSMinnow wrote:
The rules don't explicitly state


FWIW the rules for constructing a wonder explicit mention that you do not pay the cost of the Age card:
the rules wrote:
3. Construct a Wonder

You pay the cost of the Wonder (not the one of the Age card), then place your Age card face down partially covered by the Wonder card which is being constructed. The used card has no effect, it is simply used to show that the Wonder has been built.

Same as when one trashes a card for the cash. The player need not have the resources to obtain it; the player merely selects the card to discard out of the game, and takes the cash.

These are also an effective way of denying the card to the opponent. devil
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.