Subject: Help me get better, please rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Bradley
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Scotland
flag msg tools
I am new to this game, having discovered it recently on Steam. I am loving it so much it has immediately replaced Lords of Waterdeep as my go-to Steam game when I want a board/card game fix.

However, I suck at it.

Right now I can *just* holding my own against the Medium AI on the Steam version. I guess I might be winning only about 25% of the games I play versus 3 Medium AIs. [I might also be losing about 25% of the games I play versus the Easy AI!!] So, yeah, I suck.

The main reason I lose is that while I am painstakingly trying to work out what cards to try and pick up that would go really well with my beautifully and meticulously constructed tableau, the AI just lays down its 12th card (or takes the last VP chip) and ends the game "early". I'm not even nearly ready to end the game, dammit!! I'd say 95% of my losses happen like that.

It's a race....who knew?

So basically I am looking for a guide or set of guides that would suit a beginner like me. I fear my approach to the game is slowly degenerating into a "just build anything when you can, as long as you build, build, build. Be FIRST to lay 12 cards! The cards you lay are irrelevant".

Which I assume is a bad approach? I have read a ton of the strategy articles on this site, but most of them are going over my head. I need something much more fundamental and suitable for educating noobs like me. Any recommendations?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milan
United Kingdom
Kings Langley, Herts, UK
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Two Tips:
1. dont play like it's chess...play more spontaneusly. You might still lose, but you'll enjoy the play.
"painstakingly trying to work out what cards to try"...sounds like AP to me.

2. Practice makes Perfect. Play more. Play quick, and you'll end up playing well.

Cheers
D.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls