Salt Lake City
We had a question come up last night in our first game. Someone played Con Artist to take all of the favor, while someone else tried to counter it with obligator. We ruled that obligator would not help in this scenario, but I'm asking here hoping maybe someone can help definitively answer how the two interact.
If obligator doesn't help after con artist is played, would it help "before" con artist is played?
If obligator doesn't help either before or after, what are some real world use cases because at least in my game, there wasn't a lot of "I'll help but you need to play a future card to help me" type of scenarios?
You ruled correctly. The Obligator makes the terms of the deal binding, but the con Artist bypasses the deal completely. Note that the Obligator still makes other aspects of the deal binding. For example, we make a deal where I give you half the favor and on your next turn you give me 2 of your resources. Then I play obligator and con artist. I steal all the favor, despite what was promised, and you still have to give me resources on your turn.
One use of obligator if people aren't making deals is with threats. Threaten to sink someone's important deal (by increasing cost or killing their personalities) in exchange for making them promise not to attack you. Then hit them with obligator if they agree.
That is brilliant! Normally the Obligator doesn't see much use but the next time I get it I'm totally going to do that.