Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: dealing with the effects of the hunt rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Hickey
United States
Galesburg
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
beginning on page 41 of 2nd ed. rules, several options are given to deal with the hunt effects. But it says that the steps must be followed in order. So does that mean that if the Free player has an event card that can be used, but chooses not to, he cannot use any other means provided? In other words, step 1 must be done (if available) before steps 2,3,4 etc? And step 2, the Companion ability before taking a casualty, etc? And so on?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
No. You can choose not to use a table card and go to the next step. No option is mandatory.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Like Craig said, using a card, guide ability, or taking a casualty are all optional. It's important to remember the sequence though. The common time where it can matter is if you have Horn of Gondor or Axe and Bow on the table (each reduce damage by 1), draw a 3 damage tile, and want to take a random casualty. Since you have to use the card first, it can be wasted if you draw Gandalf/Strider as the random companion.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Some dude
Netherlands
Groningen
There dismay took them, for at the gate was a guard of whom no tidings had yet gone forth.
flag msg tools
Swiftly the wolf grew, until he could creep into no den, but lay huge and hungry before the feet of Morgoth. There the fire and anguish of hell entered into him, and he became filled with a devouring spirit, tormented, terrible, and strong.
badge
Then swiftly all his inwards were filled with a flame of anguish, and the Silmaril seared his accursed flesh. Howling he led before them, and the walls of the valley of the Gate echoes with the clamour of his torment.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course, there is an exception when it comes to Guide abilities.

Take note of the paragraph written in red:
the rulebook wrote:

Note: If, at any time during the Hunt resolution, a new Guide is appointed (this happens, for example, when you use Meriadoc’s and Peregrin’s Guide ability, or because the Guide has been eliminated), the ability of the new Guide may be used immediately, if applicable.

This means the Guide abilities can be chained together. If you draw the 2+reveal tile, you can separate Pippin to reduce Hunt damage by 1, then separate Merry to reduce 1 more and then Gollum becomes the Guide and cancels the reveal.
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark schultz
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
truly? then I've just learned something new as well, thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Teamjimby wrote:
Since you have to use the card first, it can be wasted if you draw Gandalf/Strider as the random companion.



Taking a random casualty while Strider is still with the Fellowship is...not advisable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric C

New York
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I would say if you decided to forego an extra action die and Strider is still with the fellowship in Mordor then you would be okay.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Ecirelli wrote:
I would say if you decided to forego an extra action die and Strider is still with the fellowship in Mordor then you would be okay.


Sure, in that case. I wasn't really considering him already being in Mordor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.