Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

A Handful of Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Space Mines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rod Spade
United States
Elizabethtown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

"You do not have to have a Fleet or Star Base to gain this modifier BUT you must have some presence in the system, i.e. a Colony or Outpost."

Does this imply that you must have a wooden piece (home world, colony, or outpost) in the system to get the benefit of Space Mines?

Or is it merely a superfluous reminder that having "no pieces (either Military Units or cylinder/disc/cube) of any kind on the system" is an immediate loss, rendering everything else irrelevant?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Renaud Verlaque
United States
Shelter Island Heights
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
The former...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bames 53
msg tools
What would be the difference in effect between those two interpretations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rod Spade
United States
Elizabethtown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bames53 wrote:
What would be the difference in effect between those two interpretations?

The question is: Are Space Mines effective if you have only a Fleet in the system?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Orszak
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rodspade wrote:

The question is: Are Space Mines effective if you have only a Fleet in the system?


We've taken this to be that any of your pieces would count as a presence in the system. The overall description says that you use it when defending in combat. The sentence that quoted seems intended to qualify that it is in effect even if you don't have a fleet or starbase (you do not HAVE to have a fleet or starbase). If they intended to make it only effective with an outpost or colony in the system, wouldn't they have stated that an outpost or colony is required?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rod Spade
United States
Elizabethtown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Orgak wrote:
We've taken this to be that any of your pieces would count as a presence in the system. The overall description says that you use it when defending in combat. The sentence that quoted seems intended to qualify that it is in effect even if you don't have a fleet or starbase (you do not HAVE to have a fleet or starbase). If they intended to make it only effective with an outpost or colony in the system, wouldn't they have stated that an outpost or colony is required?

I believe you're right. Unfortunately, in the absence of any other definition of presence in the rulebook, one might be tempted to think it means "i.e. a Colony or Outpost."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correspondence w/ Martin wrote:
You just have to have something of your ‘colour’ present, so a fleet would be enough.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.