Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Science tag on an Event rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Brooks
United States
Caswell Beach
North Carolina
flag msg tools
There is one Event card, Special Design, that has a Science tag on it. And I cannot figure out any possible use for this tag. Since event cards must be flipped down right after their powers are used, it doesn't look like this science tag could be useful to meet the science tag requirement on any other card, or to help one win the Scientist award. So what on earth (or Mars) is that tag useful for? Is this a little design error in the game?

Or am I reading wrong, and the Event and its tag actually sticks around for the duration of the turn (or generation) in which the card was played?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Couch
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It triggers blue cards that read science tags. The two in the game at the moment are Olympus conference and Mars University. You can use the abilities of those cards if you have them in play when you play the event.
Likewise Virus triggers Decomposers amongst others.
18 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Levy
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mars University is a blue card, which states the following, "Effect: When you play a science tag, including this, you may discard a card from hand to draw a card."

Playing an event card that has a science symbol will activate the Mars University effect. The same rule applies to the Olympus Conference card.

Olympus Conference is a blue card, which states the following, "When you play a science tag, including this, either add a science resource to this card, or remove a science resource from this card to draw a card."


11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Robo Fish wrote:
It triggers blue cards that read science tags. The two in the game at the moment are Olympus conference and Mars University. You can use the abilities of those cards if you have them in play when you play the event.
Likewise Virus triggers Decomposers amongst others.

In Venus Next, there will be another card that triggers on science tags. A really cool one... goo
22 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volker S.
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sparklight wrote:
it doesn't look like this science tag (...) to help one win the Scientist award.


That is how we always played it. The hidden science tags make the award more exiting - same e.g. with space-tags on the expansion map.

Am I interpreting the rules wrong here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
VolkoV wrote:
sparklight wrote:
it doesn't look like this science tag (...) to help one win the Scientist award.


That is how we always played it. The hidden science tags make the award more exiting - same e.g. with space-tags on the expansion map.

Am I interpreting the rules wrong here?


Yes. Tags on events only counts at the time of playing the card, not after it has been turned upside down. But at the playing moment, it triggers everything it can trigger.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volker S.
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I read through the rules and I am not sure about this "Events (red cards, C) are collected in a personal pile face down after being played. Their tags only apply while being played" (p.10)

Later we have "3) Scientist: Having the most science tags in play." (p.11) in combination with "Then gather all of your remaining cards (including all your played events!) and count your VPs" (p.12)

Anyways - I think we keep on playing like this, this makes those milestones more interesting for they are not so easy countable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Reaves
United States
Allison Park
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Later we have "3) Scientist: Having the most science tags in play." (p.11) in combination with "Then gather all of your remaining cards (including all your played events!) and count your VPs" (p.12)

Note the order. You add up the vps on your remaining cards last, after checking for scientist and other funded awards. You don't pick up the played events until the last part of scoring.

In full:
Quote:
1) TR: Your TR at the end of the game is your basic score.
Move your marker onward from this point as you add VPs
from the rest of the scoring.
2) Awards: Gives the leading player in that category 5 VPs
and the runner-up 2 VPs (except in a 2-player game). Ties
are friendly: Players at the same level get the same VPs for
1st or 2nd place. (See rules on page 11.) Add your points to
the TR-track.
3) Milestones: Each claimed Milestone is worth 5 VPs.
4) Game board: Players get VPs from the map on the game
board. Each greenery tile is worth 1 VP and each city tile is
worth 1 VP for each greenery adjacent to it (regardless of
who owns the greenery tiles). Count these in player order to
avoid confusion.
5) Cards: First count all VPs on cards that collect resources.
Then gather all of your remaining cards (including all your
played events!) and count your VPs. If you have Jovian
cards, these may have to be counted separately
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Bakija
United States
flag msg tools
Q: Are we not men?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sparklight wrote:
Or am I reading wrong, and the Event and its tag actually sticks around for the duration of the turn (or generation) in which the card was played?


As noted, tags on events don't stick around. But they still count as being played when you play them. And there are cards that say "Do X when you play a science tag", so when you play an event with a science tag on them when you have one of those cards, you do X. It is also not impossible that in the future, there might be a card that says "-2 cost for science cards", in which case, you could play the event with the science tag at -2 cost (just like there are currently cards that say "-2 cost for space cards", which means you get to play events with space tags at -2 cost, etc.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.