Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Green Box of Games» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Sutlers of Kansas rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Ajoy
Ecuador
Quito
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
All cubes you place must be adjacent/connected to another of your cubes already on the board.


Adjacent how? Does a city at the center of a tile have 8 different possible adjacent positions to place a road? (the centers and corners of the tile)

Can a connection be: center of a tile -- corner of the tile (which is the center of a second tile) -- center of that second tile ?

Quote:
In order to build, you must calculate the value the goods you have procured. Each card is worth 1, but the value increases by 1 for each additional card in a set of different goods.


If a player has:

hammer, wheel, drop, logs, hammer, wheel, drop, logs

does she have:

1+2+3+4 = 10 and 1+2+3+4 = 10 for a total of 20

or

1+2+3+4 = 10 and 1+1+1+1 = 14 (all of the symbols already repeated in the first set) for a total of 14


Quote:
Both cubes in the center (known as Houses) and on the border of the tile (known as Roads) count. So if you have no cubes on any tile of the particular type of goods you want, then you can not take it, and if you have for instance one House and two Roads on a given symbol you can take a maximum of 3 cards with that symbol.


Do you need to have a house on a tile to collect from the connected roads, though?

Or can you collect form a road at a corner of a tile even if you don't have a house in that tile?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jørgen Brunborg-Næss
Norway
Son
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
DanielAjoy wrote:
Quote:
All cubes you place must be adjacent/connected to another of your cubes already on the board.


Adjacent how? Does a city at the center of a tile have 8 different possible adjacent positions to place a road? (the centers and corners of the tile)

Can a connection be: center of a tile -- corner of the tile (which is the center of a second tile) -- center of that second tile ?


The center of a tile (i.e. a House) is adjacent only to the corners (i.e. roads) of the same tile. A corner is adjacent to the three centers of the tiles it is touching, and to the three closest corners.

Bear in mind that we are trying to simulate a hexagonal grid here, so each tile by definition has six "corners". A corner is defined as the point where three tiles intersect, highlighted by the dark green diamond markings (if all tiles have the same orientation). See this illustration where I have shifted the dark green diamonds a little bit to make it easier to see the hexagonal pattern.



DanielAjoy wrote:

Quote:
In order to build, you must calculate the value the goods you have procured. Each card is worth 1, but the value increases by 1 for each additional card in a set of different goods.


If a player has:

hammer, wheel, drop, logs, hammer, wheel, drop, logs

does she have:

1+2+3+4 = 10 and 1+2+3+4 = 10 for a total of 20


Yes!

DanielAjoy wrote:


Quote:
Both cubes in the center (known as Houses) and on the border of the tile (known as Roads) count. So if you have no cubes on any tile of the particular type of goods you want, then you can not take it, and if you have for instance one House and two Roads on a given symbol you can take a maximum of 3 cards with that symbol.


Do you need to have a house on a tile to collect from the connected roads, though?

Or can you collect form a road at a corner of a tile even if you don't have a house in that tile?



Yes, you collect from roads even if you have no house.

Looking forward to hearing your feedback on this game. It has not been very thoroughly playtested, which is also why it is not included in the rulebook for the upcoming version.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.