Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

War in the Pacific: 1941-1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why Should the Japanese Contest China rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mick Mickelsen
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that the intent of the rules pertaining to China is to reflect the attrition that the Japanese incurred in that theatre.

But why shouldn't the Japanese player just abandon China?

I can't see any incentive for attempting to conquer China other than that it freezes up the Japanese land units there.

But why not achieve the same effect by simply abandoning China? If there are no Japanese land units in China there is no penalty for failing to attack the Chinese land units. The Chinese land units can't campaign so they will simply remain in their original starting hexes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ancient hatreds and goals driven agendas, most likely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mick Mickelsen
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
martimer wrote:
Ancient hatreds and goals driven agendas, most likely.


Hmm, not very compelling in game terms. Usually when games want to reflect those things VPs are awarded.

If the Japanese player just wants to win the game is there any reason for him to fight in China?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Walden
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmb
Starting with turn 2, the Japanese player is required to make one land combat, if he doesn't, he has to eliminate a land unit in China. Also, he's required to maintain 3 land units in China or lose 3 TRPs next turn.

So if you abandoned China, would it be worth the loss of a unit and the resource points? Would be an interesting strategic dilemma.

Conquering China would free up land units for use elsewhere.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mick Mickelsen
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Totally missed the rule that if the Japanese player has less than 3 land units in China he loses three resource points! It was right there and I kept reading over it. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.