Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hero's Journey Home» Forums » Rules

Subject: questions re: crits and flubs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Bacher
United States
Greenwood
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Okami
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played a lot of D&D years ago, so I'm familiar with the concept of crits and flubs when rolling 1d20. However, I'm a bit confused about the concept when rolling 2d20...

My understanding of the rules is that I should roll 2d20 for an attack, giving a range of 2 to 40 (with the Bell curve topping out at 21). Is that correct?

If so, then:

1. Have I flubbed my attack when either of my attack dice is a 1?

2. Have I scored a critical hit when either of my attack dice is a 20?

3. What happens when I roll a 20 and a 1?

---
My gut instinct is that with 2d20 a flub should be on a total roll of 2, and a crit should be on a total of 40... but that's not how the rules read.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David DeStefano
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You treat each die roll as a separate attack.

Roll to hit. For attackers with 1 HP, roll one die (1d20). For attackers with 2 HP or greater, roll two dice (2d20). For each individual die roll equal to or greater than the to-hit value, a hit is scored.

So for your examples:
1. the die with a 1 flubbed, check to see if the other die hit
2. the die with the 20 is a crit, check to see if the other die hit
3. the die with the 20 is a crit, the die with a 1 is a flub

Also, if you roll two 20s only one counts as a crit.

At least, that's the way I see it....
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Cranfield

Virginia
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is correct! You beat me to it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Bacher
United States
Greenwood
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Okami
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OgdenTwohorn wrote:
You treat each die roll as a separate attack.


OH! OK, then, I need to start over...

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.