Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Richard III: The Wars of the Roses» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating "A" unit in face of enemy reinforcement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, we have a situation that Earl of Shrewsbury (an "A" unit) retreats from a battle round in which the reinforcement come up, when the single original defender was just eliminated. A unit cannot retreat in round 1 battle. But can it retreat in face of enemy reinforcement coming up? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes "A" can retreat the round reinforcements enter the battle (round 2 of battle). Since the original defender was eliminated before the reinforcements arrived, the attacker now becomes the defender and vice versa. This "A" block (now considered the defender) can now retreat with impunity, even if the reinforcement blocks have any "A" blocks.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the battle round wouldn't restart at round one with reinforcement and the roles of attacker and defender being reversed. Shrewsbury can retreat because he now becomes defender and defender fires first and so he can retreat right away without firing.

This is the kind of subtlety you have to pay attention to in a Columbia block game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.