Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: Building a Balanced Wargaming Resume and Collection/Taxonomy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Huberty (General Trashy Meeples the Ambigamer)
United States
Woodbury
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have some limited experience with the wargaming hobby and am fortunate to live in close proximity to and boast membership in the flourishing wargaming club the First Minnesota Historical Wargame Society. Time to take advantage of that opportunity and expand that limited experience. I would like to game both broadly and deeply. Broadly in the sense that I would like to sample representative games of the major categories of the wargame taxonomy. Deeply in the sense that I would like to play these relatively few games many times and become marginally competitive in them. If you are so inclined, please help me build that taxonomy and then populate it with a few exceptional games.

It seems to me that wargaming can be broken down into conflict, scale, primary gameplay mechanisms, and theater. Am I missing anything?

Conflicts are relatively easy to delineate. I won't cover all of them here but if you want to laud a particular game as the best of a conflict, feel free to do so.

Theater would include land, sea and air. This might be further broken down. Land could be separated into infantry, armor, etc...Sea into surface, sub-surface, etc...Air into air-air, air-surface, etc...Additional categories for combined operations, space, etc... should probably be included as well.

Scale would feature tactical, operational and strategic. This could be further discretized as well with grand tactical, grand strategic, etc...

Mechanism is probably going to be the most fluid taxonomy. The major categories that come to mind include traditional hex-and-counter, CDG, area-impulse and block. I'm sure I'm missing quite a few. Feel free to add to these.