Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion – Rise of the Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Subversion vs Boba action card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefan
Netherlands
flag msg tools
So we came across this situation in our play of rebellion and im not sure what the correct rule is.

In the assignment phase the imperial player reveals Boba"s action card.

Boba Fett Where
Place this leader in any Imperial system. During the next Command Phase, Rebel leaders cannot attempt mission in this system or use action cards in this system.

In the Imperial player's turn "Lure of the Dark side" is revealed and used against the captured Rebel leader in the same system as the Boba action card.

Now my question is:
Is the Rebel player allowed to play Subversion at this time?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jooice ZP
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stefaninator wrote:
So we came across this situation in our play of rebellion and im not sure what the correct rule is.

In the assignment phase the imperial player reveals Boba"s action card.

Boba Fett Where
Place this leader in any Imperial system. During the next Command Phase, Rebel leaders cannot attempt mission in this system or use action cards in this system.

In the Imperial player's turn "Lure of the Dark side" is revealed and used against the captured Rebel leader in the same system as the Boba action card.

Now my question is:
Is the Rebel player allowed to play Subversion at this time?



it isnt an attempt,

Quote:
Unlike other missions, the “Subversion” mission is never attempted.
Instead, a player reveals and resolves this card when his opponent
attempts a mission


i would say allowed
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
I believe Subversion is a "resolve" mission, so it wouldn't be prevented by that action card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SWR RotE Rulebook wrote:
SUBVERSION MISSION

Unlike other missions, the “Subversion” mission is never attempted.
Instead, a player reveals and resolves this card when his opponent
attempts a mission (during the “Send Leaders to Oppose” step). The
leaders assigned to this mission will oppose the opponent’s mission.

- Up to two leaders can be assigned to this mission.

- Unlike other missions, players can reveal their “Subversion”
missions after passing in the command phase.

- A player can oppose a mission using both a leader from his leader
pool and leaders from a “Subversion” mission. A player can only
resolve one “Subversion” mission per opponent’s mission.

- When a player uses a “Subversion” mission, it does not count as
that player resolving his turn. (It is used during his opponent’s
turn.)

- “Subversion” missions can only be used against missions that are
“attempted,” not missions that use the word “resolve.”

- Leaders assigned to a “Subversion” mission are unaffected by the
Rebel “Misdirection” mission.


From this, I believe it is allowed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Yeah i think you guys are right. The Boba card says attempted so it cannot block a resolve mission.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan
Netherlands
flag msg tools
I just noticed I placed this message in the base game section not rise of the empire, sorry about that.

If it needs to move there go ahead
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure anybody noticed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
I believe Subversion is a "resolve" mission, so it wouldn't be prevented by that action card.


Actually, it's not even a resolve. It's its own weird new type of card. Neither resolve nor attempt. A response mission I guess you could call it. But it doesn't even use that term.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan
Netherlands
flag msg tools
David Umstattd wrote:
csouth154 wrote:
I believe Subversion is a "resolve" mission, so it wouldn't be prevented by that action card.


Actually, it's not even a resolve. It's its own weird new type of card. Neither resolve nor attempt. A response mission I guess you could call it. But it doesn't even use that term.


This card doesn't say resolve but the manual does.

SUBVERSION MISSION

Unlike other missions, the “Subversion” mission is never attempted.
Instead, a player reveals and resolves this card when his opponent
attempts a mission (during the “Send Leaders to Oppose” step). The
leaders assigned to this mission will oppose the opponent’s mission.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jooice ZP
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stefaninator wrote:
David Umstattd wrote:
csouth154 wrote:
I believe Subversion is a "resolve" mission, so it wouldn't be prevented by that action card.


Actually, it's not even a resolve. It's its own weird new type of card. Neither resolve nor attempt. A response mission I guess you could call it. But it doesn't even use that term.


This card doesn't say resolve but the manual does.

SUBVERSION MISSION

Unlike other missions, the “Subversion” mission is never attempted.
Instead, a player reveals and resolves this card when his opponent
attempts a mission (during the “Send Leaders to Oppose” step). The
leaders assigned to this mission will oppose the opponent’s mission.


i believe in this case they didn't mean resolve like attempt/resolve, it was just a figure of speech in my opinion.

however this does not contradict that the Boba Fett card has no effect on subversion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.