Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Giga-Robo!» Forums » Rules

Subject: "When this card is Activated" and Roar of the Armada rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nate Parkes
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario:

Kong vs. Med'racht Singh

Step 1: Kong plays SABOTAGE

INSTANT (1 spirit, 3 cooldown) When this card is Activated in Cooldown, place a Target Token on any Structure. When this card returns to your hand, destroy the Targeted Structure and remove the Target Token from play.

Singh doesn't respond, and the instant cycle resolves. Sabotage Activates as it's placed in cooldown, meeting the condition, so Kong places a Target token on a nearby high-rise.


Step 2: Singh plays ROAR OF THE ARMADA


INSTANT (2 spirit, 3 cooldown) Pay this card's Fighting Spirit cost + X. Perform X Recovery Rolls. Per Success, choose and Deactivate 1 Card in your opponent's Cooldown Meter.

Singh pays 2 spirit to play Roar of the Armada. Kong responds by paying 3 spirit to play SCORCHED EARTH

INSTANT (3 spirit, 3 Cooldown) When this card is Activated in Cooldown, place a Target Token on any unoccupied hex. When this card returns to your hand, create 1 Inferno on any 1 Targeted hex and inflict 1 Fire to all adjacent hexes. Remove the Target Token from play.


Singh doesn't respond and the instant cycle begins to resolve, first with Kong's Scorched Earth. She resolves the rules text, moves Scorched Earth to cooldown, Activates it, and places a target token on a nearby unoccupied hex.

Then Singh resolves the rules text of Roar of the Armada, and must pay 3 spirit to perform 1 recovery roll ("Pay this card's Fighting Spirit cost + X. Perform X Recovery Rolls.") He is successful, and deactivates SABOTAGE in Kong's cooldown.


Step 3: Kong plays GUERILLA TACTICS


INSTANT (2 spirit, 3 cooldown) Activate any 1 Deactivated card in your Cooldown Meter.

Singh doesn't respond, and the instant cycle resolves. She activates Sabotage, which meets its rules text condition, so she places a target token on a skyscraper.


Step 4: SABOTAGE (which is Activated) returns to Kong's hand

The second part of the rules text activates: "When this card returns to your hand, destroy the Targeted Structure and remove the Target Token from play."


Questions:

Question 1: Does Kong destroy the high-rise (targeted first), the skyscraper (targeted second), both, or one of her choosing?

Question 2: If Kong only destroys one of the buildings with Sabotage, when Scorched Earth returns to her hand and triggers, can she place an inferno tile on one of the "targeted hexes" from Sabotage? If she does, is the building destroyed?

Question 3: Is it intentional that Singh has to pay the spirit cost of Roar of the Armada twice (once when playing it, then again when resolving the rules text)? Or was the rules instance of "pay this card's Fighting Spirit cost" intended for clarity?

Question 4: I'm sure the has been answered somewhere else, but is an "unoccupied hex" a hex that contains no robot, structure, tile, barrier, or token?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Hammerschlag
United States
Chicago
flag msg tools
badge
IRON FUSION OVERKILL!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eldil wrote:
Questions:

Question 1: Does Kong destroy the high-rise (targeted first), the skyscraper (targeted second), both, or one of her choosing? Your choice! The more targets you put out on the board the more dangerous you become as Kong.

Question 2: If Kong only destroys one of the buildings with Sabotage, when Scorched Earth returns to her hand and triggers, can she place an inferno tile on one of the "targeted hexes" from Sabotage? If she does, is the building destroyed? Yes; If an attack or ability would create an Impact Tile on a hex containing a Structure, destroy the Structure, resolve the Impact Tile, then draw an Impact Card and resolve its Destruction text.

Question 3: Is it intentional that Singh has to pay the spirit cost of Roar of the Armada twice (once when playing it, then again when resolving the rules text)? Or was the rules instance of "pay this card's Fighting Spirit cost" intended for clarity? For clarity - you pay just 2 FS plus X.

Question 4: I'm sure the has been answered somewhere else, but is an "unoccupied hex" a hex that contains no robot, structure, tile, barrier, or token? No robot.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Parkes
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.