Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blast attacks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Castle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Do blast attacks have to target an actual monster or is it possible to target a space?

For example, several mosters are positioned such that more of them are adjacent to a single empty space than are adjacent to any one of the individual monsters.

Targeting that empty space will result in more monsters taking damage (albeit only half of the initial blast damage rolled), but this may be preferential if some of these are already weakened and could possibly be killed in this way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not possible. Attacks cannot target empty spaces.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miche
Germany
flag msg tools
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat...
badge
I see dead people...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how we've been playing too. Pity for the explosion weapons... Especially when the alternative is to nuke an own hero
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Castle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
So I just looked at the core rules PDF and under Blast it states:

On a Blast attack, all spaces adjacent to the targeted space are also affected by the attack.

RtL includes this:

When a hero performs an attack that targets or affects multiple monsters, the monsters gain an additional advantage during the “Deal Damage” step. Choose 1 monster to which you will deal damage first and resolve the step as normal. Then halve the (heart) results (rounded up), and apply that value to each of the additional monsters, before applying (shield). This rule applies to attacks with Blast but also actions such as “Whirlwind,” “Army of Death,” and Leoric of the Book’s Heroic Feat.

So to me, it seems that you can target an empty space (because core rules state space, not monster) and thus affect multiple monsters, one of which receives the full damage (which you choose from all affected monsters according to RtL) and the rest, half.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check page 12 of the rule book:
Quote:
The target space must contain one enemy figure as the target of the attack
.
The paragraphs that you quoted clarify that during attacks on large monsters (which occupy more than 1 space) still 1 space that the monster occupies is targeted. Thus, Blast adds only spaces adjacent to the targeted space (not adjacent to the monster) to be affected by the attack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Castle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Aha. Cool, thanks.

It seems counter-intuitive that when you have targeted a monster on a space, that you then get a choice of which monster receives the full brunt of the attack. It would seem most reasonable that the targeted moster would take the full damage and surrounding ones splash damage.
Although, this could simply be a poor choice of wording, and really should read "Choose 1 monster as your target, to which you will deal damage first".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The passage you quote is most likely an oversight by FFG. Blast has been re-ruled for RtL recently. See here:

New RtL rule book; p.6
The attacker rolls his attack dice once and applies the full damage to the target enemy and half of the damage to figures adjacent to that space, rounded up.

For other attacks that targets and/or affect multiple figures it is not very clear at the moment. I guess you can choose the monster to take full damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Castle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Sorry, looks like I'm out of date with my current RtL rules. Just downloaded the latest and it all makes a lot more sense now.
Thanks for the replies.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note the new half-damage Blast rules apply to playing RtL only, not to the tabletop game. Rules there are unchanged AFAIK.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.