Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Too Many Bones» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bog Lurk Stunned rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lindy
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm afraid I'm not going to like this answer!

If a Bog Lurk is stunned (ranged baddie with poison 2), is there any effect? The rules say Stun = "Target loses its next turn (negative effects apply)." So the Bog Lurk still poisons on its next turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Drog
United States
Jacksonville Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bog lurk does not poison on next turn. "Negative effects" refers to if the stunned baddie had an existing effect die on himself.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lindy
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ooohhhh, that makes more sense! Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Yarto
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Raining down board gaming fun since 1985!
badge
Play DVG's Field Commander Nimitz!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mdrog2 wrote:
Bog lurk does not poison on next turn. "Negative effects" refers to if the stunned baddie had an existing effect die on himself.


What a relief - I felt as though 'negative effects' might have meant negative for ME! I have a baddie who has an Inspire and a Terrify trait but neither are active while he is stunned, right? RIGHT? cry

Rick
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Maxcy
United States
Lexington
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ravenbro wrote:
mdrog2 wrote:
Bog lurk does not poison on next turn. "Negative effects" refers to if the stunned baddie had an existing effect die on himself.


What a relief - I felt as though 'negative effects' might have meant negative for ME! I have a baddie who has an Inspire and a Terrify trait but neither are active while he is stunned, right? RIGHT? cry

Rick


My first thought is that you're correct, but that's only as far as Inspire is concerned. I'm not sure how Terrify is effected as it's an ability that triggers when you attack the baddie. If that were the case though, abilities like Lashback would still trigger even if the baddie were stunned. I'm not sure how to interpret things from RAW and we might need official word on whether Stun knocks out certain abilities and if so which ones. From a thematic perspective I could see Stun stopping a baddie from Poison or Lashback, but not necessarily how it could stop Thick Skin or Hardy from working.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lindy
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arcnarenth wrote:
My first thought is that you're correct, but that's only as far as Inspire is concerned. I'm not sure how Terrify is effected as it's an ability that triggers when you attack the baddie. If that were the case though, abilities like Lashback would still trigger even if the baddie were stunned. I'm not sure how to interpret things from RAW and we might need official word on whether Stun knocks out certain abilities and if so which ones. From a thematic perspective I could see Stun stopping a baddie from Poison or Lashback, but not necessarily how it could stop Thick Skin or Hardy from working.

Interesting questions! I'd also be interested in an official ruling on what exactly "stun" affects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Wielgus
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stun makes the Baddie skip its turn, but things like poison counters, bleed, etc would still hurt the Baddie.

As for things like Lashback, Thick Skin, Hardy, etc - those are passive abilities that only happen when a Baddie is attacked, so yes those are still in play even when a Baddie is stunned.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.