Subject: Question on Death/Insanity and an alternative rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Dukelow
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to this game, have only played through the core set and just began playing Dunwich.
My question is a speculative one I've been thinking about.

When an investigator dies the game allows you to bring in a new investigator as a replacement, but how about if you wanted to "retire" an investigator and voluntarily bring in a new one?

I'm thinking about this in the context that if you have ended up suffering a lot of physical or mental trauma with a investigator and they've been reduced to starting the scenario with 1 or 2 life/sanity. It seems to me at that point it might be better to bring in a new investigator and try to start leveling them rather than trying to continue with the investigator who has 1 or 2 life until they are finally killed?

I don't see anything in the rules that prevents you from doing this as you can have investigators leave and come back in the middle of campaigns, but am I missing anything?

On a side note, has anyone experienced this? and what are the more experienced player's thoughts on this? Is it better to keep playing with your investigator who starts with 1 sanity or better to start getting XP on a new one?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I do not think the rules have any problem with players 'retiring' investigators between scenarios, and replacing them with other investigators using all "level 0" cards.

If I had a badly-abused investigator with only a couple of starting sanity, I would retire 'em before the next scenario.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Dockery
msg tools
mb
Dawedu wrote: