Dice Hate Me
The boardgame blog with worse luck than you! dicehateme.com
I'm pretty sure the batter has to roll for the swing on every pitch. They have to earn a Ball through their roll. In other words, the batter can't simply take the pitch when the pitcher rolls a B and skip the Swing roll, right?
Sorry for asking the obvious (there's nothing in the rulebook about not rolling during the Swing phase), but I just watched a walkthrough video where the guy doing the video seemed to think the batter CAN take a rolled B as a ball.
That got me doubting how I've been playing ...
Unless the batter has a Trait or Ability that states otherwise, you must roll.