Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Kell
United States
Lino Lakes
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm about to write a rule book for a party game that I was showing at Grand Con this weekend and got some interest from publishers. I'm considering going away from the norm and writing a script for how to teach the game. Following the script would be a section that answers the other questions that come up during the game but aren't vital to get started. I want to hear your thoughts in the comments and on the poll!
This is my first time making a poll, so I'm sorry if it's no good.

Edit: This is specifically a question for a party game, keep that in mind in giving your answer. But feel free to give comments for other styles of games!

Poll: Should a rule book teach the game or just hold rules?
Would you like a rule book that is written as a script to teach the game?
Yes
No
      81 answers
Poll created by spicyqueso15

Poll
Would you want this if this was just an additional resource? Rather than replacing the core of the rule book.
Yes but I already wanted it.
Yes, it would be a nice addition.
No, I specifically want it to replace the rules.
No, I don't want it at all.
      62 answers
Poll created by spicyqueso15
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
maf man
United States
Waunakee (madison area)
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
it sounds like a fun idea but I'm just not convinced it wont make it harder to learn.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lazy Mountain

Colorado
msg tools
mb
In the "worst rules ever written" geeklist, some game is nominated for using a "dialogue" style for rules.

From a design perspective, is there a reason to do it? Will it help players enter the mindset you hope for, or will they still only be read by players needing specifics? Will highlights be easy to reference?

Btw, breaking the rules into a script section, and another "traditional" to cover edge cases probably shouldn't be the goal.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls