Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Question: Routed Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Davis
United States
California
flag msg tools
Hello All,

I was wondering if anyone could provide some clarification on rules regarding routed units. In the rules it states:

After retreating, all retreated units are placed on their sides
and are routed. Routed units provide no Combat Strength,
but still count towards a player’s supply limit. A routed unit
forced to retreat is destroyed. Routed units may never be
chosen as casualties in combat and may not move, even if
a March Order token is resolved in their new area.


However, I could not find information on what happens to them after they are routed later in the game. Are they just permanently placed on their side until killed by another player? Or are they returned to normal after the end of the current game round?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David K.
United States
Pflugerville
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Routed units are returned back to normal at the end of the round.

Edit:

Step 4 of the Action Phase:

4. Clean Up
All remaining Support and Defense Orders are now removed
from the game board and all routed units are stood to their
upright position
(see “Retreats and Routing” on page 21 for more
information on routed units). The Messenger Raven and the Valyrian
Steel Blade tokens are both flipped to their available (non-faded)
side.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jom bee
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Shadowen wrote:
Routed units are returned back to normal at the end of the round.

Edit:

Step 4 of the Action Phase:

4. Clean Up
All remaining Support and Defense Orders are now removed
from the game board and all routed units are stood to their
upright position
(see “Retreats and Routing” on page 21 for more
information on routed units). The Messenger Raven and the Valyrian
Steel Blade tokens are both flipped to their available (non-faded)
side.

Hello,

What if routed units are attacked again in the same round? The rules say if forced to retreat, they are destroyed. But it also say's that they cannot be chosen as casualties. Casualties would only apply to a card being played, not defeated in combat, correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David K.
United States
Pflugerville
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Casualties are chosen and resolved before the option to retreat, and are the result of the sword and fortification icons on the cards. You cannot choose routed units as those casualties. After removing your casualties, if you decide to retreat, routed units are destroyed instead of moving.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.