Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Normandy '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Bahrke
Gibraltar
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
In 13.1.1 it states that "a unit that retreats two or four hexes must end its retreat two or four hexes away from the hex it occupied when the combat was resolved - if it cannot, it is eliminated.

In 13.1.5 (Overstacking) however it states that "a player may avoid an overstacked situation by retreating the stack additional hexes until a hex is reached where stacking restrictions are not violated".

So this means you may voluntarily retreat more than two or four hexes provided that afterwards the stack is not more than two or four hexes away from the combat hex, right ?

Tnx, Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is that you can end up 3 or 5 hexes away from a combat if your only step-loss free retreat path would result in stacking violations.

Essentially, 13.1.5 overrides 13.1.1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the '2' or '4' means you can't go around in a circle and end up back adjacent to the hex.

Yes, the additional hex supersedes this.

-K
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Bahrke
Gibraltar
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you Both!

So my statement regarding overstacking situations...

"you may voluntarily retreat more than two or four hexes provided that afterwards the stack is not more than two or four hexes away from the combat hex"

should be..

"you may voluntarily retreat more than two or four hexes provided that afterwards the stack is not less than two or four hexes away from the combat hex

C.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, you can't end a retreat - even after extra hex to avoid overstacking - closer than the required minimum hexes.

-K
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.