If I want to take a Card Action to get a Promotion, the rulebook states to put an Hourglass in the Spent Time board space, but do I have to put an Hourglass on the Card to activate it as well? (I'm thinking not in this particular case, but that I would with "Raise a Family" since it has an Hourglass & is a Card Action. Unless I'm mistaken).
No. So, here's the play-by-play of the promotion. You put the hourglass on the job card, spend the resources, then discard the job to get the new one. This leaves the hourglass nowhere, so you move it to spent time. So, in total, you're spending only one.