Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Yomi (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blocking a Mixup Normal with a Super Block rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't realize that this wouldn't work until I got hit by a normal attack using the Steam client.

Pretty sure this isn't clear in the rules:

Quote:
p. 14:
Also, they can’t block your odd numbered normal attacks with an even numbered block, and vice versa. For example, if they try to block your 3
attack with a 10 block, they get hit. They discard the block card and don’t draw a card from blocking.
When you’re knocked down, even though your blocks are weaker, they still work as usual against specials and supers.


So, Argagarg's Bubble Shield (A) doesn't successfully block a normal attack when Arg is knocked down.

Pretty crappy rulebook, IMO. But a great game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I remember seeing it in an FAQ but I'm not sure if that was printed anywhere or only available online.
Specifically, Arg's Bubble Shield (which I think is the only block on a non-numbered rank) counts as an odd block, so it loses to even mix-up normals.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for posting! I would have gotten that wrong too.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It counts as an Odd? Oh, so it will block odd numbered normals. Okay, good to know. Pretty sure that's NOT anywhere in the rulebook.
Thanks for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Howard
United States
Marina del Rey
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the latest FAQ:

http://forums.sirlingames.com/t/yomi-second-edition-gameplay...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is the relevant ruling in the FAQ (thanks for the link):

Quote:
Q: If I was knocked down last turn, can Bubble Shield block any attack, even "mixup normals"?
A: No. The combat after you're knocked down, you can't block an odd numbered normal attack with an even numbered block, and vice versa. Bubble Shield is considered odd, so it can't block an even numbered normal attack after a knockdown.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baptiste Andreani
msg tools
The EX version of Quince also has a special Block
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quidam wrote:
The EX version of Quince also has a special Block

Yes, you're right.
However, in this case, it looks like they put the text directly on the card itelf. Similar text is missing from Argagarg's Bubble Shield.

Quote:
It's immune to mixup normals.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron White
Australia
Bathurst
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Bennett from Brawl
badge
Slow and Thoughtful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I did not know that about Quince and his EX block, good to know!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.