Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you enhance a move card with strengthen ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bart Keys
Australia
flag msg tools
Pretty much exactly as it sounds.

Can I Enhance a "Move 5" with strengthen?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corey Mayo
United States
Schertz
TX
flag msg tools
Have you paid your dues, Jack?
badge
Yes sir, the check is in the mail.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bart_aus wrote:
Pretty much exactly as it sounds.

Can I Enhance a "Move 5" with strengthen?


No. According to the rulebook on p. 46: "[Strengthen] and [Bless]: Can be placed on any main ability line that affects allies or yourself. A “Move” ability does not count as affecting yourself. The specified condition is applied to all targets of the ability."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Keys
Australia
flag msg tools
cmmayo wrote:
No. According to the rulebook on p. 46: "[Strengthen] and [Bless]: Can be placed on any main ability line that affects allies or yourself. A “Move” ability does not count as affecting yourself. The specified condition is applied to all targets of the ability."

I'm not sure how a move is not affecting my character. (My initial take is the same as yours, but the other three members of my group felt differently, and I'm now not certain.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bart_aus wrote:
I'm not sure how a move is not affecting my character.


The Official FAQ says

For the BLESS and STRENGTHEN enhancements, what abilities count as targeting allies or yourself?
If an ability has a targeting qualification below it (e.g. "Self" or "Affect all allies at X range" or simply "Range X"), and it is a beneficial ability, then you can enhance it with Bless/Strengthen (as long as it has a dot, of course). A "Move" ability does not count as targeting yourself.


How many possible ways can the last sentence be interpreted? I only count one.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmmayo wrote:
No. According to the rulebook on p. 46: "[Strengthen] and [Bless]: Can be placed on any main ability line that affects allies or yourself. A “Move” ability does not count as affecting yourself. The specified condition is applied to all targets of the ability."


This is only in the second edition rules. For the currently available version of the game, you have to consult the FAQ.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.